To Parents.. Try not to be so Worried

Sneha Shanmughan
@Sneha_littlebeliefs
2 min readMar 31, 2017

“Don’t anger your parents in order to please other. Those other people didn’t spend their lives building yours.
This is something I read a long time ago which affected me deeply. Suddenly disappointing or lying to my parents seemed like the worst sin in the world. I am blessed to have amazing, understanding parents but it does come with a certain level of protectiveness.
So the first time I wanted to go for a trip with just my friends, I stayed home because they thought it was unsafe. I looked at the pictures of my friends enjoying themselves and thought maybe I need to show them I can take care of myself so that they let me go the next time.

But the reality of situation was however old or mature I get, it was never going to be enough for such expeditions or any solo trips. Because apparently they trust me, but not the world around me.
This cycle continued and that missed high school trip turned into college trips to hill stations, late night beach strolls, parties or any late night plan for that matter.

All of this I missed simply because my parents would stay worried till I reach back home safely. But was it all worth it?
I understand that the world is a big, bad place. When all news channels and tv shows are depicting most gruesome details of crimes happening around us, it’s very difficult to not be distressed about our well being.
Honestly I myself am worried sick about my safety all the time but that’s why I take extra precautions and do everything in my power to keep me and my friends out of trouble.
What you as parents need to understand is, amidst all these missed trips, I am losing out in life and wonderful experiences. I don’t want to look back at my life and regret all these happy moments which I never got to live.

I want to live a happy, fun life, not one where I am always scared of being in new situations or encounters just because you were doing your job as a parent being overprotective.
I hope you do understand because you mean the world to us .

--

--