Kate Mora Woods
Live.Dance.Move
Published in
2 min readApr 19, 2017

--

On Hips and Harnesses…

“How much do you weigh?” he asked. “230 lbs” I said. “In kg” he asked? “I don’t know kg,” I replied. “Ok” he said. “Harness too small for you. It ok. Just move around until feel comfortable.”

Umm…. What?!?! Deep breath.

Things are happening fast. The harness is already on me, but looks completely different than the ones on the other members of my group. “Why am I different? Why am I always different?!?” is screaming in my head. The rest of my group is behind me, further up the hill. I seem to have been nominated to go first as the guide leads me towards the edge of the cliff. I won’t have the chance to watch how this is done by anyone else first.

It’s the moment of no return.

Do I trust this Nepalese paragliding pilot when he says “it ok” even though he and I both know I’m too big for this harness? To step back now would admit defeat. It would allow the world to tell me what I can and can’t do simply based on the size of my hips.

Another deep breath.

It will be ok. He knows what he’s doing and I’m not your ordinary big girl. Big hips; bigger heart.

Trust the journey, and fly…

--

--

Kate Mora Woods
Live.Dance.Move

Adventurer. Dancer. Solo traveler. Encourager. Lover of pickles.