The Abuse Explained

Phil Beck
Live for Kesho
Published in
3 min readJan 6, 2018

Verbal Abuse

What is verbal abuse?

Is it just yelling?

Is it some type of physical abuse?

Verbal abuse can best be described from a dictionary.

Verbal abuse (also known as reviling or “verbal bullying”) is described as a negative defining statement told to the victim or about the victim, or by withholding any response, thereby defining the target as non-existent. www.encyclopedia.thefreedictionary.com

Verbal abuse is the only type of abuse that can affect every single person with any type of communication ability or understanding. www.healthyplace.com

Now I could go on and on about the studies and dictionaries but I don’t want to put you to sleep. In a nut shell verbal abuse is painful and could mess you psychologically.

How do I know this?

Why do you think I’m passionate about it?

Take time and think why anyone would talk about it….

I like people can sometimes have the answers themselves but they didn’t have the confidence to believe their answer is the right one. I know the feeling well, but that is for a different tale. My focus right now is my passion to help people change their words and thinking.

If you guessed that I have experienced verbal abuse you would be right. I never knew anything about verbal abuse until I was 35 years old. What the Bible says is true, Hosea 4:6 (KJV) “My people are destroyed from lack of knowledge.”

I was getting destroyed by the words spoken over and over repeatedly to me. I didn’t know how to fight it. I didn’t know that verbal could be quiet put downs. I didn’t know words can hurt worse than physical. At least with physical it heals but words hurt for a lifetime especially if said repeatedly.

Verbal abuse from my experience is the worst kind of abuse because it affects your mental state and how you feel about people. It will make it hard to socialize and be part of society. Everything I know about verbal abuse comes from experience and research. I have no desire to socialize anymore and I quit trying. It is like something is missing in my brain, I just can’t seem to socialize well. I know from my research and studying that I’m suppose to keep the focus on the speaker not on me, but I can’t seem to come up with much more than, “how are you?.” As a Christian I have difficulties trying to approach people to witness to them. When it comes to confrontations it is like I’m programmed to think automatically that the person is going to yell or snap at me so I try to avoid it.

It is hard to go against your programming. This affect on me wasn’t entirely the abuser’s fault it is mine. Why? Because I chose to continue what was said. I was influenced to believe what the abuser said. My words and actions continued the influence long after I stopped being around the abuser. So the abuse doesn’t just stop with the abuser it continues long after the victim is no longer around the abuser. The victim becomes the abuser to themselves.

As you can read this is what verbal abuse is and can do next we will cover the symptoms then you will read the blog of the hurting. Hopefully this explains what verbal abuse is.

-Live for Kesho

--

--