I Wanted to Tell You About Commitment, Determination and Hard Work; I Wanted to Tell You About the Small Businesses of America

Delmarva, USA
Live Local USA
Published in
3 min readApr 27, 2018

I’m sure you know by now that I been searching online for news and events surrounding Independent Bookstore Day, because I love to see what so many amazing small businesses are doing, photos of their shop, and how they have planned to celebrate the day. Maybe I just want proof that others are as committed to this as we are? Or is it just me wanting to tell you again that these independents are so worth noticing, caring about, supporting? Because they are you know; these places are the one-of-a- kind jewel which benefit each town or city; they are cornerstones and destinations; the product of a journey of dreams and dedication and hard work.

But if we fail to see; if we turn away and miss the point about spending locally, investing in these enterprises and establishments, many times there is something else instead. It could be the sadness and emptiness we feel when learning that a favorite place is closing it’s doors and leaving our corner of the world, or when walking down a hometown street brings you to a shop window that for the first time in decades, is lacking it’s familiar display of the treasures which were once found inside. It’s honestly, heart-wrenching for people like us who have come to love and value the fixtures of their community, and I can’t help but share that with you this morning, as I glance over and note the number of followers on the Facebook page (3300), and then see the proportion of ones who actually take the time to read our posts.

I’m very grateful for the ones who do, who comment and offer input and join in our conversations — and yet I wish every Main Street organization, Downtown Merchants group or Shop Local initiative currently operating across the country would have looked for a page like ours by now. I wish they would have searched online or on Facebook to learn about us and find some value in the topics and posts and thoughts which are shared here, the countless observations of holidays and special dates which can absolutely tie into small business promotions, the articles and stats and data offered to readers to help them make wise choices. I wish this page was more noticed by “the big guys” and connected with, because while each and every day I find reasons to choose, use and support the independents where I live, we’ve been largely ignored by the mainstream. I just want people to wake up and know what we have in these mom and pop business owners, entrepreneurs and dedicated individuals who together make up the American dream.

Because it matters, I took some time the last few days to look online for examples of those entrepreneurs and dedicated individuals, so I could share them with you — and perhaps inspire you to go out and find such a place right where you live. As images of storefronts and banners and advertising for #IndependentBookstoreDay caught my eye, I followed links and learned of places established years and decades ago, which are not only surviving but are thriving as a pillar of their communities and down towns. Phrases such as “Serving the local area since 1961”, “Established in 1993”, “Part of the neighborhood since 1945” leaped out at me and told the stories of countless hours of hard work, commitment and determination. For that reason alone, I got up again today and wanted to tell you about them; I just wish more people were listening.

--

--

Delmarva, USA
Live Local USA

Community advocate • localist • believer that “together we accomplish more”. https://delmarvausa.blogspot.com