An iPhone 15 Pro or Camera for Disney World Photography?

Finding the best photographic fit for a landmark family vacation

Andrew Howe
Live View

--

“That’s no moon…no, actually it is a moon…my bad”

I have been having this internal battle with myself for the last six months about whether or not I still needed a compact camera in 2024. Much of this has been played out in the virtual pages of various of my Medium articles.

The root cause of this dilemma is the sheer competence of modern smartphones for photography and video. This theoretical debate kicked up a notch with the untimely demise of my trusty Sony RX100V.

Did I replace it?

If so, what with?

I eventually decided that the premium compact market had at best stagnated and was in danger of extinction. The exception that proved the rule was the Fuji X100V/VI…

--

--