First Light

Not Every Picture Tells A Story; Some Pictures Need Our Help

Scott Houston
Live View
4 min readJul 4, 2023

--

A photo with a forest, a tent and a rising sun.
“First Light”, Photo Credit: Scott Houston, Shenandoah National Forest, Virginia, 2011

Introduction

This is one of those pictures that comes with a story.

I took this snapshot with a Nikon COOLPIX S210 at 7:04 AM on November 12, 2011. The author bears full responsibility for the quality and composition of the photo. My Blackberry cameraphone and Nikon D7000 were intentionally left behind. They needed to be either more useful or much lighter to take along.

A small Nikon point and shoot camera.
“Nikon COOLPIX S210”, Photo Credit: Nikon Corporation

The Story

We were backcountry camping near the trailhead of Old Rag Mountain, a popular hike known for its incredible views. It was clear, dry, and still overnight. The temperatures fell to 24F, seasonable for the Western Virginia Mountains in November. I was somewhat prepared, and this was the second of three shakedown hikes for a Boy Scout High Adventure Trip we were taking to Havasu Falls, Arizona, in 2012.

Backcountry camping means no electricity, no easily accessible car trunk, no running water, no bathroom, no nothing. You have what you carry.

Overnight, it was cold. I had yet to learn a valuable lesson. You really need to use two mats under your sleeping bag to insulate yourself from the cold ground. One pretty good mat was not going to be enough. As a result, I woke up about every twenty minutes overnight, resulting in having to leave the uncomfortable tent for a few bonus bio-breaks. I was too cold to sleep, but it wasn’t like I was going to expire. When awake, I needed to stay still and quiet as a courtesy to my tent mate, who was more successfully sleeping.

I was eagerly waiting for the slightest hint of dawn, even the faintest glow signaling the beginning of the end of the night, so I could get outside, make some noise, and get my blood moving. This photo was taken when the sun finally peeked over the ridge. It was the beginning of a great day.

Photos have meaning that transcends their artistic merit

The campsite could have been more majestic, there was much clutter in the foreground, and some trees were distractions. With that said, there was something extraordinary about that morning. I survived the night just fine, though not comfortably. But to begin my day in these woods, with nature, seemed to be a small price to pay. And every time I look at this photo, all those great feelings rush back. That’s why I like this picture. Feelings transcend artistic merit.

Photos have meaning that transcends their technical merit

I may have been able to push the camera in a way that would have helped the photo. It probably didn’t have a lot more to offer me. Without a raw file, my choices were limited further. The sensor simply could not handle the forest’s low light and the sunrise’s brightness. The chromatic effects on the trees against the sky are striking. Regardless, the camera did what it was made to do. Nikon made this particular camera to be compact, reliable, and accessible. Good job, Nikon. Feelings transcend technical merit.

Some photos need a story to unlock their meaning

Some photographs tell a story. I’ve made artistically and technically successful photographs that tell their story well. I celebrate these photographs.

Some photographs need a story. They’ll never win a competition. They don’t stand on their own. They need our help.

If you make many photographs that need a story, consider creating projects that consist of collections of photos along with a narrative. I’m going to take on this challenge with more of my photos.

What were my options?

With little effort, I could have transformed this photo into a more successful one with some tricks: simulated film grain, black and white filters, and all that. But I wouldn’t say I liked the results. I decided to keep it this way because it comes with a story, and as long as I’m around to tell it, that’s how it will be. This photo represents how I remember it, even with the digital noise and chromatic mess.

What did I decide to do?

I passed the original JPEG through Topaz Photo AI and let the application remove some noise and perform some sharpening. Topaz Photo AI can perform miracles if you give it something to work with. There’s not a lot to work with here. In this case, it tightened up the photo for me. I cropped it, removed a few distractions, and there you have it.

A photo with a forest, a tent and a rising sun. Small improvements have been made.
“First Light #2”, Photo Credit: Scott Houston, Shenandoah National Forest, Virginia, 2011

Conclusion

I like it just the way it is. With an interesting story attached to it, maybe you can agree. Not Every Picture Tells A Story; Some Need Our Help.

Meet the Live View Writers

Live View features authors from a variety of backgrounds who share their passion for photography. You can meet them all, read their stories, and follow them by visiting the Live View About page.

--

--

Scott Houston
Live View

I'm a photography enthusiast living in Baltimore.