I Deleted My First Ever Concert Photo

Then I Had Second Thoughts

Michael Bryant
Live View

--

I am fortunate to have attended many concerts in my life. I enjoy good music and seeing my favorite bands live. I have not been in the habit of collecting concert tickets, making bootleg recordings, or taking photos and videos of these concerts. I also don’t recall buying any t-shirts, but that is mostly because I couldn’t afford them. I have the memories of the experiences and that has been enough.

Realistically, I probably didn’t take photos at concerts because I attended way more concerts prior to the smart phone revolution that put a camera in everyone’s pockets than I have since. In those ancient, but not so long-ago times we didn’t typically bring cameras to concerts. They were not allowed, didn’t fit in your pocket, and were easy to confiscate.

And then, a few weeks ago, with iPhone in pocket, at an outdoor venue, on a lovely summer evening in August 2023, I took this photo. My first ever concert photo.

Photo by Michael Bryant

Chances are, if you have been to a concert, you have photos similar to this, although your seats may have been better or worse than mine. Depending on your expectations and experiences, my first ever concert photo is either a surprisingly good or bad concert photo.

--

--

Michael Bryant
Live View

Photography enthusiast writing about photography and the creative process.