PHOTOGRAPHY

Start Thinking About Psychogeography

Techniques to Channel Inspiration in Street Photography

Matthew David
Live View
Published in
5 min readOct 31, 2023

--

Paris | Kodak Portra 400 | All photos by the author

As a photographer and writer, I depend heavily on sustaining myself upon what I create. To do that, I need to be producing at a pretty steady pace. At least for me, this can be hard to keep sustainable. If I don’t have a specific, commissioned project I am focused on, it can be very tough to find the inspiration in my everyday life to continue the creative process independently. Since I don’t have the luxury of waiting for inspiration to strike, I try to use strategies or games of a sort to help me view my hometown with fresh eyes or explore a foreign city despite feeling lost and overwhelmed.

“They can print statistics and count the populations in hundreds of thousands, but to each man a city consists of no more than a few streets, a few houses, a few people. Remove those few and a city exists no longer except as a pain in the memory, like the pain of an amputated leg no longer there.” — Graham Greene

Psychogeography

At a travel writing workshop recently, I learned of a strategy for writing that I will also apply to my street photography. It’s a study called psychogeography, which explores the interpersonal connections and arbitrary routes in urban…

--

--

Matthew David
Live View

Travel Writer and Photographer | Published in National Geographic Traveller Magazine and Outside Online | all photographs are my own | IG @mattnelly.jpg