6 Practical Wellness and Workout Tips For Teachers

Emma Stinnette
Live Wire Learners

--

1. Make one Healthy Choice at a Time

I understand completely. It’s tempting to have the momentum to change your habits and then think you need to change every habit all at once. I’ve gotten a gym membership thinking I’d attend every day. I’ve tried to swap out my dark chocolate peanut butter cups for a green smoothie. Or switch from half and half tea to plain unsweet. Or go from no activity to extremely challenging workouts.

This all-or-nothing mentality is not good for us teachers. It’s just a recipe for burnout and loss of energy…quickly. If you add into your daily routine once healthy choice at a time, you’re far less likely to quit. It becomes a habit instead of a chore. Below are some ideas to add to your daily routines, if you need help brainstorming.

Getting 10,000 steps per day.

Drinking more water than coffee

Eating breakfast

2. Constant High-Intensity Workouts ≠High Yield Results.

It is highly likely to give you an injury instead. And teaching children is hard enough without being hurt. A woman that my mother likes can be found here. Her description states that:

My videos are easy to follow and the exercises featured are specifically curated for beginners, and active older adults. The workouts are challenging and at a great pace that works well for anyone.

A good workout is one that you can stay consistent with, and that you like to do. This woman, Lauren, has 15–60 minute videos geared towards beginner fitness levels. I think these videos are a perfect example of moving your body without hurting yourself. I’m not saying you can’t work up to high intensity workouts, but she is a good place to start.

3. The 10 Minute Rule

10 minutes of doing something will always be better than 10 minutes of doing nothing. If that looks like going for a walk, stretching, dumbbell strength training, a YouTube video, etc… that is a win! Choosing to take care of your body for 10 minutes is better than neglecting it, and will give you more fuel throughout the day.

4. Motivation Does Not Cause Action

In reality, taking action drives your motivation to keep doing something. If I’m laying on the couch watching Brooklyn 99 and waiting to be motivated to on on a run, there’s no way I’ll actually move from my spot. However, if I set a clear time with myself to start getting ready to go on a run, I will feel motivated to continue running once I actually start doing it.

5. You’re Exhausted Because You’re Not Eating Enough Protein

There are a lot of other reasons you could be exhausted, especially in our ine of work. However, it's generally recommended to consume 30g of protein before your morning coffee. Fuel your body with real food and energy before relying on the fake stuff.

6. If You Don’t Like It After 10 Minutes, Quit

If you start a workout and you are miserable 10 minutes in, then stop doing it. There are so many days that I don’t feel like going to the gym, and I tell myself to try to make it at least 10 minutes. If I don’t feel motivated, or I’m still tired and dragging myself around, then I’ll switch gears. Maybe my body really needs a hot yoga session, or to rest. There’s no rule dictating that you have to go lift heavy weights for an hour per day. Listen to your body and what your body needs. It’s okay to switch into doing something else.

--

--