6 Tips to Improve Your Relationship With Your Paraprofessionals

Shari Stinnette
Live Wire Learners

--

Being a Life Skills teacher is a HUGE job that encompasses everything from providing individualized academic instruction, behavioral supports and practice with OT/PT goals, to vocational instruction and practice towards independent living. No matter how much we would like there to be a single program or curriculum that covers all the needs, the truth is that we have to use our resources creatively and wisely to do our job well. Our paraprofessionals are our greatest resource to help us meet the needs of all our students.

A strong educational team doesn’t just happen. As teachers, we must be intentional in our efforts to foster a cohesive, high performing team of adults in our classrooms. To that end, here are my top 6 tips for building a strong community of educators in the classroom!

1. Look for the positive

Let’s face it: sometimes our classrooms can be a hot mess. You may have a paraprofessional working in your classroom who is making mistakes or not performing to your standard. When this happens, the temptation is to complain about everything that is going wrong. What I have found to be helpful is to compliment my paras for anything I see they are doing right, even if it is something small. I make a point of thanking my paras for their work and creating a positive atmosphere. I want to foster a classroom culture in which all progress is celebrated and we believe everyone can and will improve in some way, including the teacher!

2. Set clear expectations

Honestly, I often spend more time each day with my paras than I do with my spouse. And just like in a marriage, I can easily take my paras for granted. I expect them to “just know” what I want them to do or how I want them to act. Relationships work best when expectations are presented clearly. This can include what is expected during inclusion support, clerical duties, before and after school routines as well as tone of voice with students and data collection. Which leads to point number three….

3. Establish structured methods of communication

I personally like to create a Google Classroom class for my paras as my method of communication. Our days are so busy and complicated, that we can’t always sit in one place to have a clear conversation about expectations. I use Google Classroom to send information after the school day is over. Everyone receives a notification when I have posted to our special class and can read it when they have time in the day. If there is something that truly needs to be addressed with everyone in person, I will ask permission to have a meeting after school so they will be paid for their time. Find what works for you. Some teachers have a dedicated weekly meeting or visit before the school day starts.

4. Treat them!

Let’s face it, paras in our types of classrooms make far less than they are worth. The job description for a para can include lifting, feeding, toileting, collecting data, and providing academic and behavioral supports to students who can be challenging. Paras make very little money. While teachers aren’t exactly rolling in the money, we do make considerably more than our paras do. That’s why I like to give little treats at certain times of the year. I always start the school year with a little basket of goodies such as cute pens, favorite candy, sticky notes and the like. We have Paraprofessional Appreciation Week at our school. I get something little for my paras for each day of that week. An encouraging note and a Dr Pepper can go a long way in our classroom! I’m not suggesting you spend hundreds of dollars on your paras, but get to know their favorite snacks and hobbies and treat them when you can. Make sure they feel seen and appreciated.

5. Criticize carefully

Do you like being called out for your mistakes? I’m guessing the answer is no. I don’t either. The truth is, we all make mistakes and there are times we all need to hear what to change. When possible, speak privately to your paraprofessionals about what you would like to see done differently. Use a level, non-accusatory tone of voice. Come at the conversation with an attitude of, “let’s work together to make things better” instead of, “you screwed up, so fix it.” Unless there is compelling evidence to the contrary, assume that your paras would like to do the best they can to help students. Of course, if you see behavior that puts students at risk or is blatantly unprofessional, you should document your conversations regarding this behavior and bring your adminstration on board to help as needed.

6. Model

This is probably the most important tip of all. Model the behavior, work ethic, student interactions and attitude you would like to see from your paras. They are watching how you talk to students, what you do when a student is pushing boundaries, what time you show up and leave, and how hard you work. Don’t ask of your paras what you aren’t willing to give. Apologize when you mess up and show that you want to learn from your mistakes.

Your paraprofessionals are your biggest resource in this gargantuan job of being a Life Skills teacher. Spend time to build a good team. The payoffs are well worth the effort.

--

--