Shari Stinnette
Live Wire Learners
Published in
3 min readApr 23, 2024

--

Collaborative Classrooms: Harnessing the Power of Paraprofessionals — Running Centers

My classroom provides many different learning environments. I use direct teach, small group instruction, pair and share, and partner reading among other structures. However, there are times I just really need to work with three or four students at a time for 10 minutes or so to teach a concept or assess how things are going. While pulling students during independent work is an option, there are times I want to optimize the class period by setting up structured centers. Enter my paras to the rescue! If I prepare correctly, ALL my students can be practicing skills in a meaningful way while my paras are gathering data for me. Some of my students are partial to a particular para, so they know they will get at least one turn with their favorite. This motivates them to complete the centers. I get to have focused time with everyone as they rotate through which gives me an opportunity to deepen my connections with the students as well.

I generally have a total of 4 centers, including my own. Here are the steps I use to create para supported centers in my class.

  1. Consider what skills I want students to practice

I need to select skills they can do either independently or with minimal support. They should be meaningful, related to what we have been learning in class, and not busy work. I like to utilize all my instruction time!

2. Select the students for each group

In my seating chart, I tend to have heterogenous groupings for regular class interactions. Over and over, I’ve been excited to witness how students can work together, help one another and encourage each other. There are times, however, when I really need homogenous groupings. My centers tend to be for students grouped by ability.

3. Can I gamify at least one center?

There are certain math games we play in class to reinforce a variety of skills. I use a dice game to practice place value, enourage turn-taking and give students practice with subitizing numbers. Playing a short math game is much more motivating for students than completing a worksheet.

4. How do I need to differentiate each center so all students can participate?

If the center happens to be a game, how do I change the expectations for my level 1 learners when it is their time to play? What additional supports or rule changes will be necessary?

4. How will I communicate the center expectations for each para?

I cannot emphasize this enough: YOU MUST HAVE EFFECTIVE COMMUNICATION WITH YOUR PARAS TO KEEP YOUR CENTERS FROM TURNING INTO A FREE-FOR-ALL. Sorry for the yelling, but this is super important. I make sure to have instructions printed out for each center along with all the necessary materials. I also send instructions through my Google Classroom para-only class the day before our centers so they are familiar with what will happen. If I need paras to “take a grade” or record IEP data for students during the center, I include that information with the instructions.

5. How will everyone know when to switch centers and where to go?

I give the initial assignments, and then indicate a direction of movement before we begin. I also have a large timer on my screen for the students to know when it is time to move to the next center.

With careful preparation and planning, center time can be fun, valuable practice for all students. Paraprofessionals become facilitators for their center and a source of feedback regarding student performance.

--

--