Costume Connections: 3 Benefits and 1 Warning

Shari Stinnette
Live Wire Learners
3 min readOct 31, 2023

--

My absolutely amazing principal has a mantra I have heard from her for the last 9 years: “On this campus, we do what’s best for kids. And (insert initiative here) is best for kids!” What’s best for kids according to my principal includes greeting kids at the door, using anchor charts, building relationships and having fun. This is why, even though students at our school aren’t allowed to wear costumes on Halloween, EVERY SINGLE TEACHER does. And I absolutely agree with her about the costumes being best for kids and adults at our school.

First of all, teachers at our school have a blast coming up with ideas for outrageous, beautiful and funny costumes. One of my teacher friends plans her costume for almost a full year. She’s been the Queen of Hearts, Mary Poppins and Maleficent. She goes all out! Teams of teachers also get a theme going. In my room one year, we were the Spice Girls. I think I was nutmeg. Coming up with creative ideas for costumes is just plain fun for the teachers. We so enjoy seeing what everyone comes up with. A teacher having fun is a teacher fun to be around.

One of my creative paras and I with our costumes last year

When my paras and I dress up in costumes, the students may act like we are just SO WEIRD, but you can tell they really like seeing us wearing something different. Costumes can lead to connections with not only my own students, but other students in the building. During passing periods, we talk about my costume and which teachers went all out with their masterpiece costumes. We might realize we have a shared interest in a particular character or genre based on what I’m wearing. Student all throughout the school realize that teachers are real people with interests and a sense of humor that extend beyond the confines of the school day.

Costumes also make the day different and fun. It’s hard to be stressed when I’m laughing at all the student reactions when they come in to class in the morning. Every time I have to adjust something about my day to accommodate my costume, I get a little lift remembering that I’m having FUN, darn it! The excitement of a new school year has worn off by the end of October, but costumes bring back a spark of interest and excitement. The day flies by every year.

My one warning involves students who struggle with change. Take the time to prepare those students who need to know that teachers will look different. Create a social narrative, communicate with parents, and let those students in on the secret early. Otherwise, your fun day will become a nightmare, and not just on Elm Street.

--

--