Harnessing The Power of Paraprofessionals as Data Collectors: Part II

Shari Stinnette
Live Wire Learners

--

In our last installment regarding paraprofessionals, Emma shared how she organizes data collection for her paras. This week, I would like to share more information about how I utilize my paras to collect data for me.

The first step I take in this process is to assign particular students to paras for data tracking. I have three paras who go to inclusion classes with students. If at all possible, I try to make sure those are the students the para will be responsible for tracking throughout the day.

Next, I communicate with each para regarding the IEP goals they support. For inclusion classes especially, I want to ensure each para understands the goals. This not only helps them to gather necessary data, but also prioritize certain questions and concepts when modifying materials.

Some paras are comfortable going right into my spreadsheet document to report progress toward goals, but usually I end up creating a specialized form for each para to use. Many of them like to stay on paper to begin with and only update the spreadsheet once a week.

A fictional example of a printable data collection form

I include the explanation box on this form to help my paras keep everything straight. I speak quickly and don’t always have as much time as I would like to reinforce what is needed, so I put in in writing! I make the form double sided with the back section a large blank box for any notes they want to make.

Finally, I do my best to schedule some down time throughout the day for my paras to be able to maintain this paperwork.

The keys to effective data collection are:

  1. Clear communication of expectations
  2. Specialized tools such as forms or spreadsheets
  3. Scheduled time to report

I absolutely could not do my job without the tremendous effort of my paras and I’m so grateful for all they do!

--

--