Photo by Mesut Kaya on Unsplash

Are We Wrong For Wanting A Different Lifestyle? I Hope Not.

It’s tiring to keep defending the choices that lead to unconventional career paths.

Athirah Syamimi
4 min readApr 15, 2019

--

Parents want what’s best for us but drowning your kids with your aspirations won’t do anyone any good. I’m 23 this year and my dad still tries to get me to work with him at the hospital, meet a doctor who can be my future husband, and live a good life.

Working at the hospital isn’t the problem. I highly respect everyone who works there. You’re dedicating your time and effort into saving lives.

The issue is the constant nagging of what I should do with my life.

Your friend’s daughter is the same age as me, is married to a lawyer and has 3 kids? Well, good for her.

  • Don’t work for a small (startup); start finding a job in a big company.
  • Stop playing around. It’s time to settle down

Those are the two topics of discussion at the dinner table.

Writing Is Not A Career

I’ve told my dad multiple times that I’m pursuing an online writing career.

“That cannot make money,” he would reply. And it’s not only from him. Almost everyone…

--

--