20 Ways You Can Find Inner Peace (Yes, It’s Really Possible)

Peace begins with you, but you’ve got to work at it.

Rose Bak
Live Your Life On Purpose

--

Photo by Stoica Ionela on Unsplash

How often do you feel at peace with yourself?

I was in a yoga class one day and the teacher-led us in a guided meditation.

“Imagine a time you were at peace with yourself,” she began. “Remember how you felt then, what it was like to be at peace.”

And I thought, “Huh? At peace with myself? When was I at peace with myself?”

And I thought some more. The meditation ended.

I thought some more. Class ended and I kept on pondering.

I couldn’t think of a time when I had been at peace with myself. I thought some more, days went by, and the instructor’s question kept popping into my head.

And I had to conclude that I’ve never been at peace with myself. It really bothered me.

“Is anyone ever at peace with themselves?” my best friend asked when I told her about this. Good question.

I started to reframe the meditation in my head. Maybe the key was to ask yourself to think of a time you felt at peace for even a few moments and draw on that, I told myself. But even those moments seemed few and far between.

--

--

Rose Bak
Live Your Life On Purpose

Rose Bak is a freelance non-fiction writer as well as the author of more than 50 books. Find Rose's books at bit.ly/AuthorRoseBak .