5 Small Changes To The Way I Think About Food And Exercise Have Transformed My Life

Tariq Maonah
Live Your Life On Purpose
5 min readDec 26, 2018

12 weeks in and 26 pounds lighter without enduring the frustrations of dieting or excessive exercise regimes.

I often told myself that I don’t have the time or the energy to watch what I eat or exercise — being a father of two toddlers and working long days left me in a constant state of autopilot. Just the thought of exercising or dieting would make me feel exhausted.

Then I had a realisation — I am in my mid-thirties gaining weight year on year and have the feeling that life is in control of me. If I carry on like this, my health (both physical and mental) will decline, I won’t be able to keep up with my growing kids and I will not be making the most of life.

I’ve tried many diets over the years, low carb, glycemic index, intermittent fasting. Sure I lost weight temporarily, but I could never make the diets stick and I would go into autopilot again as the weight came back on.

Rather than making big changes such as following a diet or intense exercise plan, I tried making small changes to daily habits and the way I think about food and exercise.

1. Make Healthy Living Your Goal (Not Weight Loss)

Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash

The byproduct of healthy living is weight loss, better sleep, reduced stress and an increased immune system to name but a few. By making healthy living my goal, I am feeling more fulfilled and in control of my lifestyle. As the weeks go by, I am noticing improvements inside and out.

Rather than saying to myself “I need to lose 30 pounds by next summer”, my goal is now “make conscious choices each day to feel healthier and more confident by next summer”. I will reach my ideal weight eventually, without feeling like this is an all-or-nothing approach.

2. Apply A Long-Term Growth Mindset

Photo by Vidar Nordli-Mathisen on Unsplash

The phrase “slow and steady wins the race” cannot be truer. By accepting that this is a lifelong change, I was able to stop obsessing over daily progress and visible weight loss, accepting that by making better choices on a daily basis will make me reach my goals in the long term.

Following the positive attributes of the “Growth Mindset” helped me to feel in control:

  • Enjoy challenging yourself to improve as a person.
  • Be inspired by those around you and take action.
  • Allow yourself to think positively even when you stumble.

This level of self-determination and the power of positivity gives me a true sense of freedom and control.

3. Be Mindful Whilst Eating Food

Photo by Dan Gold on Unsplash

Food can be used to fill a void or to soothe our emotional state. Comfort eating was a habit of mine, but now I think about food differently. I am aware of what foods affect my body more than others and I control the quantities of these.

Portion control was an issue for me, I would pile food onto my plate and not think about what I am eating. Switching my brain off and eating until I am stuffed rather than noticing when I crossed the line of being satisfied.

I don’t count calories but I have a rough awareness of not exceeding a limit I’m comfortable with, in my case 2000 calories a day is more than enough to feel satisfied and unrestricted whilst also keeping me in a calorie deficit to lose weight slowly.

4. Treat Yourself Now And Again

Photo by Ozgu Ozden on Unsplash

Healthy living isn’t a prison sentence. I Indulge every once in a while in a takeout or a trip to my favorite restaurant. I do this with confidence knowing that I am in control of my eating habits, balancing my day to account for the indulgent meal.

Forgive and do not punish yourself for this, an indulgent meal with a level of control is a great way of creating a balance for long-term success. Over time I noticed that I did not want to indulge as often as I used — a sign that healthy living had rooted in my daily life

5. Treat Exercise As Personal Time (Not A Chore)

Photo by Bruno Nascimento on Unsplash

With my old mindset, I viewed exercise as a chore — something that required time and effort and I would never prioritize physical activity over short-sighted needs and wants. I turn this negativity towards exercise into a positive experience, by focussing on what I am gaining from a 45-minute workout:

  • Focussing on myself and connecting with this personal time to help me be more productive and energetic in my work and home life.
  • Noticing how good I feel after a workout and remembering that good feeling, as this motivates me for my next workout.

Going to the gym or joining a workout class is a daunting experience for some of us. Personally, I felt insecure and worried that I wouldn’t be able to keep up with the majority. Focussing on myself and what I am doing this for helped me to overcome those feelings.

Give It A Try

With 2019 around the corner, why not start the New Year with a new healthy mindset? Small changes to the daily decisions you make about food or exercise really do add up in the long run.

Recognize the thoughts in your mind that are holding you back from living a healthy life. The benefits of making good choices around food and exercise are central to success and happiness in all areas of our lives.

--

--

Tariq Maonah
Live Your Life On Purpose

Senior Vice President of Product & Tech Strategy @ Citi. Mental Health Advocate. Building Human Experiences, Collaborative Culture & Promotes Mindfulness.