5 Unusual Coffee Table Books That Will Inspire Your Next Visitor

Who says you can’t leave a children’s book in your living room?

Ria Tagulinao
Live Your Life On Purpose

--

Photo by Eea Ikeda on Unsplash

About a year ago, I went on a trip to Mexico City and stayed at a stranger’s place.

Well, he’s the cousin of a friend I was visiting in Mexico. But still, I hadn’t met or talked to this person ever. He was just nice enough to offer his place. And I, being the budget traveler that I was, graciously accepted. So I went along with it and braced for the awkwardness.

On my first morning there, I was hanging out in the living room when I saw on his table a book filled with photos — Postcards to be exact. With short, handwritten notes scribbled on them.

I flipped through the pages and was captivated by the entries. Some messages were scandalous, others heartwarming. Some were provocative, others child-like. Everything was anonymous.

My new friend and host greeted me as he stepped out of his room and prepared to leave for work. He was going to make his daily green juice and asked if I wanted one. I said, sure. Then I asked him about the book.

And the conversation just took off. We were just talking about the postcards and how interesting the whole project was. The next thing you know we were talking about our own…

--

--

Ria Tagulinao
Live Your Life On Purpose

Fun-sized Filipina Writer | To stay up-to-date with my work, here's my Sunday newsletter: http://riatagulinao.substack.com