All You Need Is All You Need

More Than That Is Too Much

Darryl Brooks
Live Your Life On Purpose
5 min readJul 12, 2020

--

I wrote a while back about going from downsizing to minimalist. At one point in that article, I tried to speak to people who are still in the acquisition stage of life. I don’t know how many of that group read the article as it mostly addressed those later in life who are thinking smaller. But if that is you, please pay attention.

You know who you are. You haven’t even begun to think about downsizing. In fact, you’ve been busy upsizing. You are rising through the ranks of your career, getting bigger homes, and nicer cars.

And mostly, buying a lot of stuff. Stuff that you don’t really need. I know that’s what you are doing because that’s what I did. It’s what everybody does. You finally have a little extra money, and you see that thing on the shelf, and think, why not?

Well, I can give you one reason why not. You don’t need it. You know you don’t need it, you just don’t care. But multiply that thing by a hundred, or five hundred. And that’s what you are going to be sifting through one day deciding whether to keep it. Most likely not.

Why? Because you didn’t need it in the first place. You never used it. You never wore it. You never took it out of the drawer or closet you tossed it in. It’s possible, you never took it out of the box it came in.

--

--

Darryl Brooks
Live Your Life On Purpose

Photographer & Writer-I shoot what I see-I write what I feel. Top writer in Photography, Art, Creativity, Productivity, Self Improvement, Business, Life Lessons