Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash

Being Unproblematic Did Not Advance My Career

Doyin J
Live Your Life On Purpose
2 min readFeb 12, 2019

--

I have always believed that all behavior expectations in academic, religious and athletic settings model professionalism.

The exemplary student that I was meant no unwarranted phone calls home, waiting for my turn to speak and completing all assignments on time and efficiently. That mentality is exactly what led to quiet, unproblematic, reserved behavior in all jobs I have held thus far.

My first paid job, a tour guide at my Alma mater, required me to speak but I never formed any relevant long-lasting connections. Shortly after undergrad, I entered the professional world as a manufacturing technician in a fast-rising biotechnology company.

My M.O. was an easily silent danger, known to work efficiently but never to speak beyond what was required.

During one such occasion, I overheard another co-worker tell another “ I just think that she can be so creepy, she’s so silent and you never hear her coming” while speaking about me. I walked right into her confession “creepily” as I wasn’t aware there was a loud way to commute on the carpet by feet.

When my career at my first adult job ended and I transitioned into another, I left with only a single connection. I was trained in all aspects of the job, a feat that had not been accomplished by most people hired in my cohort.

Regardless of my newly acquired skills, I was never acknowledged as “employee of the month” and was aware that my position held no real value- I was replaceable.

I have held my current position for approximately 3.5 years now, in which I have seen myself rise to the second tier of a three-tier entry-level track. The mentality of the existing management then meant everyone moved up in chronological order of date of hire.

I have not received a promotion for two years now, and upon being overlooked for a promotion and throwing a fit, I learned something new. My new manager shared the painful truth “ you were not empowered enough. I was not aware you had been taking those steps”.

My silence had been mistaken for complacency, my unproblematic nature meant that I wasn’t capable of being a leader and my efficiency meant I was performing my duties just as my fellow co-workers were too.

While I was initially defeated by the promotion overlook, I have since taken a new stance of what it means to be a professional. Being silent, efficient and unproblematic is a means of working but it isn’t the smartest.

I have spent that last two quarters making connections within my organization, taking on new projects outside the scope of the laboratory and being vocal during meetings and outside of meetings.

I have learned that being a model student doesn’t directly translate into being a model professional.

--

--

Doyin J
Live Your Life On Purpose

Living life as a 26 year old mother, wife, professional girly girl. Writing about it too!