Broken Isn’t a Sexuality

Learning about Asexuality Later in Life is a Bizarre Journey

Becky Jones
Live Your Life On Purpose
6 min readMay 11, 2020

--

The Evidence

First, I didn’t know about it; then I didn’t permit myself to claim it.

I was born in the early ’70s. Growing up in the ’80s came with expectations for one’s life, benchmarks to reach.

It looked like marriage, children, and a career. That was it.

Not getting married, as a female, meant you were an “old maid” or a “spinster. For a male, you were a “confirmed bachelor.” Translation for the younger readers is that the women were undesirable, and nobody would have them, and the men were gay.

That was how I understood it. Those were the options. There were only three.

  1. Married
  2. Gay
  3. Repulsive

At twenty-one, I was a teacher with a full-time teaching position. I owned a duplex where I lived on one side and rented out the other to pay the mortgage. I should have been proud. I should have felt accomplished.

Paths that included children but not a marriage entered into my mind but were quickly swept away because they were not acceptable. Not acceptable to family. Not acceptable in my small New England community.

--

--

Becky Jones
Live Your Life On Purpose

Changing it all up by leaving public school education to pursue writing, mental wellness, and share strategies. https://www.imperfectlypeaceful.com/hire-me