But I Just Want to Laugh! Finding Joy & Finding Your Funny

The Simple Life
Live Your Life On Purpose
4 min readMar 26, 2020

--

I don’t know about you but with all that’s going on I could use a laugh. Not just a minor smirk or brief chuckle but a good, deep, hearty belly aching laugh.

Well now that I think about it, I certainly wouldn’t turn down a brief chuckle. But what’ll truly hit the spot is a tear-jerking outburst of epic proportions. That one, I know will be the cure.

It’s true — laughter is medicine.

Good for the soul, spirit and mind a daily cackle is on par with the apple a day regimen. But how many of us are doing that? How many of us actually make sure we’re getting our daily dose of laughter in to keep the doctor away?

My guess is not many, at least not intentionally.

You see like most things in life, you have to be intentional about what you both put out and what you receive. It’s easy to get swept into the melee of the day-to-day grind of work, traffic, family, and side hustle. As all the responsibilities of life and seriousness that accompanies them certainly require an intense level of commitment.

An intensity that can easily cause burnout quick.

Photo by Yuris Alhumaydy on Unsplash

Some who know this very well have taken the extreme opposite approach and have thrown up their hands in surrender; figuring they can only do what they can do. But without being too flippant about things, what truly is a balanced way to find your joy in the midst of it all?

Well there are many things like:

  • renewing your faith in God
  • finding God altogether
  • spending time with a happy child or non-jaded adult
  • stepping outside on a bright warm sunny day and gazing into the sky
  • or finally getting a breakthrough on a mental block, relationship issue or life task

These are just a few situations for which I have personally found joy in the midst of my circumstances. It wasn’t automatic, but a willful effort on my part. I find this to be the case as well when I’ve looked for moments to satisfy the quick funny I’m desperately needing.

Whenever, I’m in an intense lull of monotony, stagnation or seemingly helpless place in life what generally helps as a kick starter is a good ole series of laughs.

Photo by Callum Shaw on Unsplash

It’s a funny thing (pun intended), because once I start rolling off the giggles I think to myself: “now why don’t I do this more?

As a pretty serious person by development, I’ve grown (and been told) to put aside the joking for more austere matters. This has often squelched my light-hearted sarcasm, which has caused me to keep things pretty rigid. This rigidity has taken the driver’s seat of the car pulling over to laughter for only a single bathroom break or two.

But what I’m finding is that it’s really okay to take time to intentionally seek after the funny. It’s not a time-wasting endeavor by any means. In fact, it’s quite the contrary.

Putting in the investment to find my funny or at least a funny moment for the day is equally transformative as any other effort to grow (and do life).

Photo by Katrina Berban on Unsplash

So how do I find my funny?

Well, the old saying is true, if you don’t use it you lose it. So if you feel like you’ve lost your ability to laugh or find your funny side here are a few tips to get it going:

  • Watch a ridiculous Youtube clip
  • Play a prank on someone
  • Try and tell a joke (like a knock-knock or story recount) to someone you know
  • Scroll through a few memes and then try and create one yourself
  • Dance in front of the mirror (if you’re brave record yourself and send it to someone)
  • Go to a comedy show (or watch one online and retell your favorite joke to someone)
  • Freestyle rap (with yourself or with a group of people)
  • Sing your answers in a conversation

Whew! Now I know you can crack a smile off at least one of these suggestions. If not, maybe you can simply laugh at the fact that nothing in life is funny. At least by doing this it’ll keep you from crying!

I’d love to hear your tips for finding your funny in the comments below :)

--

--

The Simple Life
Live Your Life On Purpose

Lover of Travel. Follower of The Way. Promoter of Self-Discovery and Personal Growth Transformation.