Photo by Immortal Shots on Pexels

This age-old camp song represents all that’s wrong with the American work culture

Joe pushes buttons. Don’t be like Joe.

Nikki Kay
Live Your Life On Purpose
6 min readJul 19, 2019

--

My six-year-old came home from camp yesterday singing a song I remember from my own childhood. It’s about this guy named Joe who works in a button factory.

Don’t bother asking what a button factory is, or whether the factory exists to actually produce buttons, or solely to ensure they’re pressed as prescribed, or for some other purpose entirely; all that is beside the point.

The song follows Joe as his boss continues piling responsibility after responsibility upon him. Joe takes on each task with a smile, performing each one progressively more poorly until he finally has no choice but to admit he can’t handle anymore.

I hadn’t heard the tune in decades, but as my daughter sang it and I tried in vain to perform the successively more ridiculous motions, I began recognizing echoes from my own life. By the end, I started to see this simple camp song as something else entirely: a disturbingly accurate parable for the American attitude toward work.

[Author’s note: If you are unfamiliar with the song, you are welcome to scroll to an awkward team-building version at the end of this story, though it’s not strictly necessary. When you’re humming it to…

--

--

Nikki Kay
Live Your Life On Purpose

Words everywhere. Fiction, poetry, personal essays about parenting, mental health, and the intersection of the two. messymind.substack.com