Photo by Kai Dahms on Unsplash

Dear Stefani, Reimagined

A Timeless Success Story of Re-Invention, told by a fangirl

Connie Song
Live Your Life On Purpose
4 min readMay 12, 2020

--

When I first heard the voice, and those mesmerizing lyrics floating through my brain cells, refusing to be released, due to mnemonic, haunting melodies, I knew that I was experiencing a powerful force of music.

She was fresh, making her impact on the world of popular music, and like the pied piper, she had her followers. But, there was something different about her. Attention-grabbing. Provocative.

Before long, I found myself enamored and “Caught in a Bad Romance.”

I listened, as information poured in, illuminating the unknown, and I watched as this magnetic attraction became a media sensation, then global phenomenon. So, this is her story, as seen through the enamored eyes of a totally biased, fan-girl.

A Household Name — Call me Gaga

She was called Lady Gaga. Striking. Beautiful. Ugly. Dramatic. Bizarre. And larger than life. As are the highlights of her long career.

A Creative Genius in Branding and Marketing

In time, I came to understand that not only was she a talented singer and songwriter, as well as a performer who unleashed the creative monster in her belly, she brilliantly re-imagined, re-invented and transformed herself into a recognizable, marketable brand. Twice. Remarkably, again and again.

The talented singer and songwriter from New York, went on to win award after award and gain momentum and devotion with her fans.

But, under all the makeup, the glitter, the glam, and the outlandish costumes, I heard rumblings that there also existed a simply beautiful soul within. Her name, Stefani Germanotta.

Drive, Fulfilment and A Sense of Purpose

And at that moment, I understood, loud and clear, that Gaga was a not a mask, or an alter ego, but an extension of a dynamic, creative force.

When I was a child, my biggest crush was confusing. Superman and Clark Kent. It was a symbiotic relationship I have always struggled to understand but never could quite grasp with full comprehension. Maybe, until now.

Stefani Germanotta’s story involving music started at an early age. Her talent stretches beyond singing, music, songwriting; it defines the creative process. Her struggle to become heard is legendary, along with her determination. And she did it her way. She was a visionary when music producers told her that her music and performance was too radical or eccentric, Gaga told them that this style would become the next big thing in music, proving them wrong.

Gaga is like the Moon and the Stars

And like the moon and the stars, I got to see the different phases of Lady Gaga. Crazy, bizarre, intergalactic, over-the-top, dripping in leopard. Not everyone’s cup of tea. To others, loyal fans. The infamous meat dress at MTV music video awards. A pulsating dance song and video with Beyonce.

Then, changing gears, duetting with Tony Bennett. An unforgettable, poignant moment at the Academy Awards, in song with Bradley Cooper. A major motion picture, a remake of A Star Is Born, and the release of a global mega-hit, Shallow. And this time, in the movie, she was her dressed down, albeit hot-in-jeans, naturally beautiful, brown-haired self.

Was she a goddess, a diva, a star, a chameleon, an enigma?

Was she manufactured or was she born this way?

Timeless

She herself has broached some of these questions. I am amazed by the versatility of this performer during the course of her long career. How the algorithm of her audience might have changed overnight. I mean, think about it, singing standards with Tony Bennett? Enter the word, timeless.

This re-invention and versatility is the essence of what makes her a success story.
Stepping from raw energy to sheer elegance and back, from one end of the music spectrum to another, is her magic. . .

Years before the Shallow duet with Bradley Cooper, I caught a glimpse of Stefani Gaga, simply playing the piano and singing a song dedicated to her grandfather, with the lyrics, “I’m on the Edge of Glory”. That was my ah-ha moment, when my perspective of her completely changed. I became enchanted and curious about this amazing performer, a chameleon, a metamorphosis.

There was one recent event that inspired me to write this piece. It happened last week. Stuck in isolation, my circle of friends connects with each other on social media, Zoom, and Facebook Live. We play ‘reindeer games’ with each other on the internet. Our version of trivia combined with karaoke.

The topic was ‘songs throughout the decades’. It just so happens that the daughter of one of my friends is twenty-something. She was not that familiar with oldies. Her mom and I were not familiar with the contemporary music of this decade. Lizzo, who? But, getting back to our game, there was one song that all the generations knew well.

Shallow — We’re Far from the Shallow Now

I love that song. I know every lyric. So does my friend. And her daughter.

Stefani Gaga’s talent has intersected the generations. And whenever I hear anyone singing the song, Shallow, I can’t help but think how this has brought us closer together, bridged a gap, made a connection.

Admittedly a fangirl, if I were to drop Lady Gaga a note today, it most likely would be a post on Instagram or Twitter:

Dear Stefani, is it all you imaged? — with love, a devoted fan-girl.

One day, I will learn how to dance like one of her little monsters.

Connie Song 2020

--

--

Connie Song
Live Your Life On Purpose

Reader | Writer | Poet | Medium Top Writer | Editor of Purple Ink | Coffee Fanatic | Twitter Connie Song 10.