Photo by Sepp Rutz on Unsplash

Embracing Boredom Can Be the Key to Your Success

Sometimes the best way to get out of a rut is to simply not think of it at all

Mauro Sacramento
Live Your Life On Purpose
5 min readMar 6, 2020

--

My story isn’t original or surprising. I’m just another writer who got excited, worked really hard for a while, let life get in the way, and stopped completely. You’ve read this tale one too many times; or worse yet, you may have lived it, too.

When I started writing consistently last year, I felt hopeful, I could feel this time I wouldn’t stop. I had no other job so nothing would distract me from my lifelong dream of becoming a writer.

Until it happened — I was forced to deal with some unforeseeable events in my life and allowed myself to take some time off.

Time Off Can Be a Death Trap When You’re the Boss

I told myself, just a few days. Coincidentally, Christmas was just around the corner so those days quickly turned into a week. I’ll go back to it after the holidays, I said.

The new year came and I thought, new year, fresh start! By then, I hadn’t written a word for two weeks. It’s not that I wasn’t thinking about it, I couldn’t stop thinking about it.

Before I realized it, a month had passed and I was nowhere near to finding the will to write…

--

--

Mauro Sacramento
Live Your Life On Purpose

Solopreneur | Writer | Experienced “Business Person” | Videogamer | Otaku | Pro Netflixer | Superhero in Training | Top Writer