Photo by nappy from Pexels

Finding Your Identity

Have you ever bothered to know - what an identity is if you have an identity, or how to find your identity? whether yes or no, read through this article to answer these questions for yourself.

Neba Silvia
Live Your Life On Purpose
3 min readApr 1, 2020

--

We often start to identify a child before they are born by finding out the sex of the child. Registering their date of birth and naming them are all a part of their identification as well. Growing up, we identify ourselves with our community, our religion, our friends, our traditions, our status, our country, our position, or anything that distinguishes one person from another.

Truly all these things distinguish us from others. However, identity here is personal. It’s about yourself and God. Your identity is what makes you, you, beyond all the physical characteristics used to distinguish you from others. It’s not about your sex, race, status… it’s about your uniqueness, your peculiarity which was known even before you were formed, and which no other person can own or take away from you. In Jeremiah 1:5, God said,

“Before I formed you in the womb, I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations”.

Before we could be recognized as a male or female, which normally is our base of setting an identity, we were already known and set apart for a particular purpose. This right here is our identity.

Just as important as our physical identification cards are in a nation, so is our self-identity in life. When you identify yourself beyond the basic standards recognized by others, it gives you a better sense of living. It makes you acknowledge your place, your capabilities, and your worth. It gives you a great sense of fulfillment and hope.

How to Find Your Identity

It’s not about finding your identity, because you were identified even before you were created. Rather, it’s a matter of accepting it.

Truth be told, I do not know who exactly I am. I’m in the process of discovering and accepting myself each day, some days better than others. However, my life took a fulfilling turn when I began:

Believing there’s more to me than just being a Bafut girl from the Northwest Region of Cameroon.

“The purpose of a person’s heart are deep waters, but one who has insight draws them out” (Proverbs 20:5).

Accepting that I am perfectly made.

“So God created man in his own image, in the image of God he created him, male and female he created them” (Genesis 1:27).

Trusting I can do and become anything.

“I can do anything through Him who strengthens me” (Philippians 4:13).

Accepting we have a duty to love and serve each other.

“Love one another warmly as Christian brothers and sisters, and be eager to show respect for one another” (John 12:10).

Acknowledging and trusting these facts led me to a point of self-realization from an inward perspective. It gave me the drive to use who I am with love, to serve others (purpose).

Therefore if you take out time to reflect on the above facts, you will find out who you truly are a bit deeper beyond human standings. It will give you a sense of identity and power, despite the physical characteristics used to distinguish you from others.

--

--

Neba Silvia
Live Your Life On Purpose

Easily inspired. I love to share my inspirations in writing.