From Hating To Run To 400KM in Five Months

How running became part of my life and how it can become part of yours.

Ana Moreira
Live Your Life On Purpose
13 min readOct 20, 2020

--

Photo by Ana Moreira

Ok, “hating to run” is probably an overstatement. The truth is, working out and practising sports is something I’ve never been taught to enjoy. For many years, I associated it with not very pleasant things, like being bullied. Years went by and running was still that thing I would only do in order to catch the bus.

Every now and then, I’d get that Gym Motivation; I’d sign up, and I’d go… until I’d gradually stop going. Every. Single. Time.

If you’ve never paid for a gym you didn’t attend, what are you even doing with your life?!

Probably the right thing.

“We are, all of us, creatures of habit, and when the seeming necessity for schooling ourselves in new ways ceases to exist, we fall naturally and easily into the manner and customs which long usage has implanted ineradicably within us.”

Edgar Rice Burroughs

We’ve all heard the famous expression “Humans are creatures of habit”. We also know that humans can be quite resistant to change. My habit was not exercising. My resistance was changing that.

So, how did I shift my mindset?

Creating a new habit

After a nice Summer all-inclusive-holiday where I obviously moved as little as I could and ate as much as I wanted, the results were there. If I wasn’t in shape before, I was definitely not in shape after. As usual, that was the motivation to [*Spoiler Alert*] sign up to a new gym!

The difference this time was the type of gym. I had previously tried one of their HIIT classes. Even though I enjoyed it, I didn’t sign up because of how expensive that gym was.

High-intensity interval training (HIIT), also called high-intensity intermittent exercise (HIIE) or sprint interval training (SIT), is a form of interval training, a cardiovascular exercise strategy alternating short periods of intense anaerobic exercise with less-intense recovery periods, until too exhausted to continue. Though there is no universal HIIT session duration, these intense workouts typically last under 30 minutes, with times varying based on a participant’s current fitness level. The intensity of HIIT also depends on the duration of the session.

These classes were relatively small, had an involved personal trainer and were uplifting and motivational.

Photo by Risen Wang on Unsplash

When it comes to working out, we all have different preferences. What will work for me might not work for you and vice-versa. The trick is to try different things and stick to the one that gives us the best results. There are so many options out there and a lot for free.

Personally, what I realized with these classes was the impact they had on me. On a physical level, I gradually gained a lot more endurance and it was motivational to experience the improvement on how much longer I could run for and how I could lift heavier dumbells.

But on a psychological level, the change was decisive. This type of workout had a great impact on my mental health. On days where anxiety was ruling, by the end of a class I’d ruled it out.

If until then, the idea of losing weight wouldn’t keep me loyal to a gym, this time, the idea of dealing with my stress and anxiety did. It also helped that it became my “me time”.

But let’s keep it real, I wasn’t always keen to leave the house to go to the gym. On those rainy, cold days, even less…

“Habits are the compound interest of self-improvement.”
James Clear, Atomic Habits

If I’m being fully honest, most of the time I had to force myself to go. That’s the thing about habits, it takes time and effort in order to set a new one. It has been proven that it takes, on average, 60 days for a new activity to become a habit, meaning that you have to stick to something for a good period of two months (on a regular basis) in order to make a shift on your mind and add it to your routine.

I won’t dive into the habits part but I definitely recommend the book Atomic Habits, by James Clear.

“All big things come from small beginnings. The seed of every habit is a single, tiny decision. But as that decision is repeated, a habit sprouts and grows stronger. Roots entrench themselves and branches grow. The task of breaking a bad habit is like uprooting a powerful oak within us. And the task of building a good habit is like cultivating a delicate flower one day at a time.”
James Clear, Atomic Habits

This time I kept going, even when I didn’t feel like it, because more than working on working out, I was working on creating a new habit. I was retraining my brain hoping that eventually, I wouldn’t have to force myself anymore. The gym’s above-average monthly cost had its own influence. When you pay more you also feel like you’re wasting more when you don’t go.

A few months later and I kept my routine. On a good week, I’d go to four (sometimes five) classes, on a bad week, I’d go to a least two. I went when I wanted to, and when I didn’t. But there was never a time I regretted going.

I finally did it. I managed to stick to a workout regime that I enjoyed. I was able to break the old routine of giving up and cancelling memberships. It soon became the longest period I went to a gym until…

March 2020 happened!

When there’s a will there’s a way

Up until late February, I kept my gym routine. The classes were 1 hour long. Half of it running on a treadmill and the other half doing floor workouts. I was used to it and running was my favourite part. It was that time I’d free my mind from the load. The same way I sometimes stress eat, I also stress run. The difference being, after the latest I don’t feel guilty.

But then there was COVID 19. Before the gyms closed, I stopped going. This time I wasn’t quitting the gym. I actually wanted to go, it just wasn’t the safest option.

For the first time, I had to deal with the withdrawal. You know that thing people say: “you get addicted to working out”. I used to laugh at it until I experienced it. A few days without working out and this irritability began. The kind of stress that would go away after a good workout session wasn’t going anywhere.

The obvious alternative was to run outdoors, which I’ve never been a fan of. Would the gym preparation make it easier now? Would a different mindset help? Would I stick to it without the gym obligation?

The need to expel the negative energy from my body did the trick. On the 17th of March, I went for my first solo outdoor run. I was so “unprepared” that I had to borrow my husband’s running sweater and belt. All I had was a recently downloaded app on my phone to track whatever running I was about to do.

First solo run tracked by Strava

The first few km were the hardest, overall there was a lot of jogging and walking in the mix but in the end, I felt great. There’s this challenge accomplished feeling that allied to the rush you get from running makes you feel great. On top of that…

Running clears your mind.

Experience the BENEFITS

- The High

To me, working out was never something I associated with pleasure and joy. Mostly because I’d never stick to it long enough to experience its benefits. On top of that, I wasn’t doing the right exercise for me.

And what is the right exercise for you? No one can tell you, only you can know. It might not be what you think, and to find out what it is you’ll need to try different things with an open mind. The answer will be given to you by your body. You’ll know what works for you the moment you experience “the high”.

One of the ways that regular exercise changes your brain is by increasing the density of binding sites for endocannabinoids. Your brain becomes more sensitive to any pleasure that activates the endocannabinoid system; it can take in more joy. This includes the runner’s high but it also includes social pleasures, like sharing, cooperating, playing and bonding. In this way, regular exercise may lower your threshold for feeling connected to others — allowing for more spontaneous feelings of closeness, companionship and belonging, whether with family, friends or strangers.

Sure, the first km is painful, sometimes the second isn’t much better. But as I persist and keep going, the rush and the adrenaline take over. After those often hard warm-ups, I’m ready to run further and faster. I start feeling “the high”, I feel lighter and more energetic.

As my heart rate increases, my mind slows down. For someone who lives with anxiety that’s the best outcome of a workout session. Losing weight and getting fitter becomes secondary.

“The pain of running relieves the pain of living.” — Jacqueline Simon Gunn

- The Unleash of Creativity

It doesn’t matter what you do or how creative or not your job is. In life, you need creativity. You need the ability to think outside the box.

How many times have you felt stuck with something? You battled yourself, trying to come up with a solution. You wasted hours of your life hitting your head against a wall (sometimes literally) and nothing. Then you “gave up”, and left it for the time being. In between that and the solution that finally popped in your mind out of the blue, there’s usually a nice walk.

Some of my best ideas come during a walk/run or right after. Whenever I feel stuck, overwhelmed, I know walking or running will unleash my creativity. It’s like resetting your computer. It pretty much always works. The same with your mind. You often need to shut it down and restart it.

“Creativity is inventing, experimenting, growing, taking risks, breaking rules, making mistakes, and having fun.” — Mary Lou Cook

- The “Me-Time”

As a mother of a toddler, I value any “me-time” I can get. It’s something we all need and often underestimate.

Running became the activity I do to clear my mind, spend time by myself, relieve stress… It’s freeing. We all love our children but let’s keep it real, we all need some regular quality breaks from parenting.

And no, “me-time” isn’t something only parents need. Our lives are incredibly stressful, with or without pandemics. Mostly with… Meaning, taking care of our Mental Health has never been more relevant.

MIND + BODY + SPIRIT = BALANCE

Photo by Jeppe Hove Jensen on Unsplash

These three parts are connected. In order to find balance and feel whole, you can’t exclude any of them.

Interference with one of the parts will affect the others, both positively and negatively. Running allows me to work on all of them at the same time.

- Mindfulness — The contact with Nature

If there’s something that running improved in my life is my ability to connect with Nature and disconnect from what doesn’t matter. It’s how I meditate. It’s my mindfulness.

To me, going for a run is way more than running. It’s being aware of my surroundings and appreciate them. It’s taking all in and keep just what brings me joy and stillness. Yes, I find stillness when I run.

Photo by Ana Moreira

“In every walk in with nature one receives far more than he seeks.” — John Muir

- The Healthier lifestyle

Working out will make you feel better about yourself and make it easier to make healthier choices. It reduces stress, so consequently, it reduces cravings. And as you see the results of your efforts you’ll want to keep them or improved them.

- Increased Food Allowance

This can be an incentive and a reward to people who, like myself, love food. On the days I work out I get to eat more. And I often leave “the good stuff” for these days. You gotta earn those extra calories.

Be Patient

Don’t expect the results to be immediate. Whatever your goal is, know that it will take time. Make sure your expectations are realistic. Otherwise, the disappointment will get you off track.

Don’t be too hard on yourself. Some days you’ll be able to give more, others less. Give yourself a break if you need one.

Give yourself time and space to rest and recover.

Add meaning to it

Making a task you may not be too keen to do more meaningful is a great way to make it more appealing. Give it layers, importance.

Align things you love with things you don’t.

In my case, I associate running with “me-time”. I’m working on myself, for myself, by myself. I add to it one of my favourite things:

- Music

The perfect playlist will give you the boost you need to have a great run. More than running, you’re listening to those songs you love so much. Take time to create a diverse playlist with uplifting songs with different rhythms. Go for what you love and keeps you going.

Photo by Mohammad Metri on Unsplash

- Audiobooks

It’s a great alternative to music. I often do both. For half of my run I listen to a book, the other half I listen to music.

As a mother, I find it hard to have time to focus on a book. Ever since I started listening to books while running, it became a lot easier to “read” the books I had on my to-read list for so long.

- Podcasts

Similar to the audiobook experience, it’s something else you can try.

Invest in the right gear

This doesn’t mean spending a lot of money. You have plenty of accessible options. This is about having the right equipment that will increase your performance.

- Clothing

Dress like a pro runner and you’ll run like a pro. Make sure you pick the right sizes and feel comfortable. Choose garments that will make it easier to move and that will let your skin breathe. You don’t need a lot of items, put quality over quantity. Remember the cold, rainy days. Be prepared as you don’t want to freeze.

- Trainers

This one is really important and it will impact not just your performance but it will prevent you from getting injured. Make sure you choose the right trainers for you and always buy at least a size above. Your feet should have room. You may or may not need support. Some stores have trained advisors that can assess you and tell you the best options for your feet.

- Running Belt

I think we all run with, at least, our phones. I’ve tried the arm thing but didn’t quite like it. I’ve also tried a belt that was too frustrating as it was constantly moving on my waste.

In order to enjoy your run, avoid anything that will take your focus from it. My favourite running belt is FlipBelt. It’s not the cheapest choice but it’s really comfortable, it stays in the right place and it’s very practical. It’s also great for big phones.

- Sports Watch/Tracking App

When I started running outdoors I didn’t have a sports watch. I used Strava to track my runs but I found out that it wasn’t always accurate on its own and didn’t always save everything. I also had to get my phone out to check my progress and I often was below what I expected which was always disappointing.

When I got a sports watch, it helped me know where I was and where I wanted to go. It added extra motivation as the goal was to surpass the previous record. One of my goals was always to do a minimum of 5km every run and to beat my previous time.

With a good watch, you can control your goals as you run, you can set new ones; set pace alerts; you can check your heart rate and adjust your pace to your needs, amongst other things. I chose Garmin and bought a refurbished vívoactive® 3. It has everything I need and more. By buying a refurbished one I saved at least £60.

- Earphones

I find it really odd to run without music/audiobooks. My performance is a lot better if I’m listening to something I enjoy.

I’ve tried running headphones like Aftershokz and even though it’s a safer option I didn’t like them as the other sounds wouldn’t let me focus on what I wanted to listen to. I also had to be constantly adjusting them.

Anything with wires it’s a no.

I’m loyal to my Jabra wireless earbuds. It’s one of the best birthday presents I’ve received. They’re not a cheap option but they don’t disappoint.

The important thing to remember is, whatever you choose, keep in mind that it’s always a risk when you run outdoors and can’t hear what’s happening around you so be extra careful, especially around roads.

- Sunglasses

Light, comfortable that always stay in place. I love these and the price is great.

- Headbands

You may not need this, but I definitely do. It’s really annoying to run with your hair getting in your face, I use these and they work just fine.

- Sports Bra

Women, this is sooo important. I've learned the hard way, you don’t have to… Pick a sports bra with front zip. Trust me! You can get them for £9,99 in stores like Decathlon.

Overall, wearing the right equipment will make your run easier and allow you to focus only on what matters. Choose what you like, what makes you feel good, comfortable, and confident.

Do it for yourself

Whatever your goals are, make sure you’re the one setting them. Whatever you choose, choose it for you. Whatever you want to do, do it your way. If you don’t know yet what you want, how you want it, go find out. There’s plenty to explore. But find it by yourself. Because anything you do for others won’t truly fit you. Find what works for you, what improves your life, and do it for yourself!

“If it doesn’t challenge you, it won’t change you.” — Fred DeVito

Photo by Ana Moreira

It’s your path to follow. Have a good run! ;)

--

--

Ana Moreira
Live Your Life On Purpose

A daydreamer whose mind is a non-stop Neverland. “If I write what I feel, it’s to reduce the fever of feeling.” - Pessoa // anamoreirawriter.com