He’s sleeping

Hello, World!

Meng
Live Your Life On Purpose
2 min readOct 3, 2018

--

The truth is this.

So many Chinese spend years of schooling to learn English, ironically, for the endless number of tests rather than real communication. Seldom do they talk or write in English, and it’s close to the end of the world for them if a piece of important reference can only be found written in English.

Although things have improved a little bit, I assume, as nowadays Chinese has been increasingly exposed to English more often than ever. Don’t be afraid to bet an Asian face as Chinese if you see one standing before the showcase in a mall reading a price tag.

I used to be an ardent English learner especially good at grammar. This may sound weird. But I did have a good command of the rules so that I scored on those multiple choices, asking to complete the sentence with the most suitable form verbs or the right prepositions.

Unluckily, I haven’t been asked to write or communicate in English ever since I entered the workforce. At an astonishing rate, my proficiency in this language is getting rusty. That explains why I am so nervous when writing this article.

I don’t know what to say.

My mind goes blank.

Am I making mistakes with the tense?

It seems that I could only put down a very simple sentence. But I don’t feel like boring my readers. I’m keen to write down something funny and interesting to read. I wish to introduce more people in the western world to China and its people, from as many perspectives as I may find.

I do want to become one of those Chinese who write in English to inform of the world what’s happening in this great nation.

And here I am!

I’m not fully prepared to take off ’cause I know I never will.

I’ll just start out from where I am now and see where it goes.

I’ll be glad and honored if you’ll follow me on this trip.

Hope you’ll enjoy what I’m going to offer, thanks!

--

--