A page of an affirmation. Photo by Author.

How I Use Affirmations

And some suggestions if you would like to start, too.

Sam Kimberle
Live Your Life On Purpose
9 min readSep 24, 2019

--

If you are a browser of self-help and self-improvement books like I am, you have come across affirmations. Affirmations are statements meant to help you be more positive, treat yourself better, and improve your life. The concept is relatively simple, but the practice of using them is not.

Often, affirmations make people uncomfortable. They are tools meant to change your very nature — it makes sense that they make people uncomfortable. They are designed to take you from your little pocket of negativity and self-loathing to a place of validation, contentment, and peace.

We all want to improve ourselves, but what we don’t realize is how much work it takes. It’s not easy and it’s certainly not painless. It’s not for the weak.

How does this transformation happen? How is it supposed to work? How do you use these little phrases to help you along your journey, even when every bone in your body wants to resist and say “God that sounds stupid and ridiculous”?

I understand, I too thought the whole concept of affirmations was ridiculous. I never thought they would work for me, and when I tried using them before, they didn’t. How could little phrases really change me?

How affirmations work, in my…

--

--

Sam Kimberle
Live Your Life On Purpose

Perpetual student, searching for my ikigai. I am an Artist in artistic recovery care of Julia Cameron. Top writer in poetry. ❤️POM-Poet!❤️