Photo by NeONBRAND on Unsplash

How Prison Workouts Prepared Me For Quarantine

The guide to not losing your mind, and no I’ve never been in prison.

Jordan Mendiola
Live Your Life On Purpose
2 min readJun 11, 2020

--

Although I’ve never been to prison, I have a pretty good idea of what it’s like. The hope for gyms to finally open back up seems like an eternity from now.

In prison, the walls are smaller than a college dorm room, and bars separate you from being able to roam free.

As I near the end of my deployment, we plan to quarantine for at least fourteen days, and I’m preparing myself for the worst-case scenario.

Assuming we won’t have dumbells and other workout equipment at our avail, it seems as though push-ups, situps, and any other free weight exercises are the only options we have.

There are many people who out of prison with incredible bodies. It’s scary but impressive.

My goal during military quarantine is not to come out shredded. Instead, I plan to maintain all of the progress I’ve made so far and stay toned.

Currently, my workout plan looks like this:

  • 200 push-ups
  • 100 situps
  • 50 air squats
  • 25 lunges
  • 10 burpees

--

--

Jordan Mendiola
Live Your Life On Purpose

Helping develop a better mindset for a brighter future. Covers army, content creation, fitness, mindset tips, and more!