How Self-Improvement Made My Life Worse

Advice from someone who lived a life of immense self-preoccupation

Laura Bongers
Live Your Life On Purpose

--

It’s funny how I’m writing this article when I own a self-improvement blog and most of my writings are on this subject.

I don’t find that all efforts to improve oneself are futile, but there are some cases where self-improvement can become toxic.

Especially when one starts at a young age, hasn’t yet experienced real life, and thinks that self-help advice by itself will make his life better.

For as long as I can remember, I always wanted to avoid any form of discomfort and suffering. I avoided confrontations, getting into unpleasant situations, and leaving my comfort zone.

So I started looking for ways I could make everything easier.

And I thought that self-help books would help me do that.

Looking back now, I realize how wrong I was. The things I learned from such books, plus being a naïve young person, did to me more harm than good.

I Always Felt I Wasn’t Good Enough

As a shy introvert, things weren’t easy for me throughout my teenage years.

--

--

Laura Bongers
Live Your Life On Purpose

Freelance Writer & Content Creator. Sharing thoughts on self-improvement, writing, and life:) noblewriting.substack.com/