How to Get the Most Out of the Remainder of 2019

Brandon Smith
Live Your Life On Purpose
2 min readOct 29, 2019

--

This year…nay, this decade…is winding down to a close. We have entered the home stretch and it is the perfect time to bear down and make sure we finish strong.

Here are four simple ways to get the most out of what remains of 2019.

  1. Start now. It is never too late to get a start on some goals. Steven Pressfield tells us that we will encounter Resistance any time we want to move from a lower to a higher plane of existence. We should expect it. And one of the ways we encounter Resistance is when we tell ourselves, “It’s too late for me to get started” or “I will wait until January and set some resolutions.” Resistance wants us to delay starting anything that will move us forward. We must resist Resistance.
  2. Track your progress. There is momentum in an unbroken streak of accomplishments. This is why Snapchat tracks “streaks” and why my Amazon Kindle tells me how many days and weeks in a row I have read. Once we establish a bit of a run, we don’t want to be responsible for breaking it and so we prioritize the task to keep the streak alive. Applying this principle to accomplishing tasks that propel us forward is very wise. And very simple. Do you want to read more? Make it a goal and track each day you read. Tracking can be a simple tally mark on a sticky note hanging on your mirror or a checkmark in your planner. Start and keep the streak alive and watch yourself go.
  3. Celebrate each victory, no matter how small. No matter how small, progress matters. Did you go for a walk today that you skipped yesterday? Celebrate! Did you drink more water today than yesterday? Celebrate! Small victories are just that…victories. Every single win, no matter how big or small leads you forward to the person you want to become.
  4. Jot down what you are looking forward to each day. This simple practice has been one of the most profound for me in this season of life. Before I earnestly get started with my day, I identify a few things I am looking forward to throughout the day and jot those down in my journal. This effectively sets my day up and frames it in a positive light. No matter what the day may hold, I get to walk toward the light at the end of the tunnel with anticipation.

What would you add? How are you ensuring you finish the year on a high note? I’d love to hear from you below!

--

--

Brandon Smith
Live Your Life On Purpose

A few thoughts on productivity, leadership, time management, culture, and values.