How to Maximize Your Happiness With Money

Invest in Experiences, Not Things

Timothy Wu
Live Your Life On Purpose
6 min readApr 30, 2018

--

Last summer, my family and I traveled to China to visit relatives and to explore. It was one of the most memorable experiences of my life.

We went to various cities, meeting up with family, exploring tourist sites, and most of all, eating loads of amazing food.

My family stayed in cities such as Beijing, Shanghai, Xuzhou, and each city had its own famous foods and attractions. It was amazing being immersed in a different culture and way of life.

The China trip was pricey

My round trip airplane ticket alone cost upwards to $2,000 and to get from place to place in China, we took the bullet train and that was not cheap either. For a portion of our trip, we even traveled with a tour group from city to city, costing a considerable amount of money.

Even though the trip was expensive, I believe it was well worth the memories and experiences.

Recent research also confirms my own self-discoveries. According to the Atlantic, studies have found that experiences contribute more happiness than possessions.

Cornell University found that experiential purchases are more beneficial than material purchases. Over time, people lose appreciation for bought goods, but on the contrary, experiences and memories get better over time.

Recent studies show that money can buy happiness to a certain extent (Science Daily).

Purdue University found that there is an optimal point to how much money can make a person happy. After this point is reached, people decline in happiness.

As a result, psychological studies say that spending money on others and experiences can increase contentment and happiness.

In this portfolio, I will be discussing about how money buys happiness to an extent, but experiences and relationships bring about a greater sense of satisfaction.

Restaurant prices in China are 50% cheaper than in the US (Numbeo).

My First Essay

In my first essay, I talked about consumption and how it is the nation’s new pastime. I focus on George Carlin’s stand up, “Life is Worth Losing,” and how he talks about consumerism in the US.

In more detail, I look into the implications of why people are constantly looking to spend and consume.

In today’s culture, consumerism is heavily promoted as people have the means to spend on miscellaneous things beyond mere necessities. At the root of consumption, there lies financial and emotional insecurity.

I found that people who pursue after wealth and material goods actually are less satisfied.

My Second Essay

For my second essay, I analyze Key and Peele’sTeacherCenter” sketch. The premise is that teachers make as much money as athletes while athletes struggle to make a living.

In my essay, I talk about how teachers are not paid enough in society in the US. I look at the current issue of teacher strikes and how teachers are demanding higher pay. I discuss whether or not teachers are underpaid and the consensus is that they are.

However, this phenomenon of teacher strikes raises a question of why. If you take a closer look at teacher strikes, teachers are financially insecure and may even be emotionally insecure as well.

The issue of teacher pay lies insecurity and feeling dissatisfied with the current wages compared to other jobs. This debate about teacher wages stems from the drive to gain more money and from it: happiness.

My Third Essay

In my third essay, I recognize Dan Harmon and Josh Roiland as the Comedy MVP’s. I place them with this honor because of their show, Rick and Morty.

In the show, there is a theme of nihilism and how life is not worth living because no one is special.

The main character, Rick, is the smartest person alive and has all the scientific knowledge in the universe. With this knowledge, he also knows that no one is special because there are infinite universes, scenarios, and timelines.

As a result, Rick believes life is meaningless and finds himself dissatisfied. However, he grows to enjoy life through the adventures with Morty and spending time with other family members as well.

Social media has been a big influence on the increased spending on experiences (Fortune).

As I was looking for ideas to write these essays, I was interested at jokes that had much to research on. Jokes that had a deeper truth intrigued and caught my eye.

I liked topics that had an abundance of scholarly work and information. For the first two essays, I looked for jokes that addressed current societal issues.

George Carlin and Key and Peele’s jokes were essentially social commentaries, and it contained both truths and exaggerations. In the wildcard essay, I chose Dan Harmon and Josh Roiland because the show Rick and Morty had a lot of interesting content and research to be done.

In the writing process, I had to research about the various topics in the essay. It was challenging to find different angles at approaching the overall topic of the story.

After I thought of an overall thesis and topic, I had to think of multiple subtopics and perspectives. I looked into different fields such as psychology, sociology, current events, and counter arguments.

As I researched, it helped me to analyze the jokes in different views.

As I developed a theme for this portfolio, I tweaked my essays so that it would bring out and highlight the theme. My revisions help complement the theme and reflect the heart of this portfolio.

More than that, I added revisions that polished each individual work. For the first and second essay, I added more information about the opposing view, creating a more balanced argument.

In addition, I added some more research for the essays to fill and complete some holes.

This portfolio and class was a long journey. Honestly, it was stressful. However, as I reflect on this semester and the work I’ve done in this portfolio, this experience has made me a more critical thinker and mature writer.

Despite the onerous tasks, I’ve come to see how it developed my work ethic and thinking as well. It’s good thing this tuition money is spent on experiences rather than just a diploma with my name on it.

Call To Action

Do you want to learn how to choose happiness, be a happier person, and be more satisfied with your life? Do you want to live the life that you were created to live? Get a copy of my FREE 7 Habits of Incredibly Happy People Checklist and learn how to become happier today.

Click here to get the checklist now!

--

--