How to Spend New Year’s Eve in New York City for Under $500

You read the title right — I did it and I can prove it to you.

Sherry Chapman
Live Your Life On Purpose

--

New Year’s Eve on Times Square. Source: SChapman

For $500 you can spend three days and two nights in New York City and ring in 2019 like nowhere else. All your friends will be jealous and you can tell them all about it when you get back home.

Getting There First

My transportation was nearly free, but I will show you how I did it.

My bus ticket from Knoxville, Tennessee to New York City was $1 because I rode the Megabus. They really do have seats for $1, but you need to purchase as far in advance as possible. They open up their ticket sales around 90 days in advance.

It wasn’t the most luxurious way to travel, but it was a memory in itself. Even if I don’t go that way again, it helped me check off an item on my bucket list, which was spending New Year’s Eve in The Big Apple.

If you don’t have a Megabus option you could use airline miles to get there for free. How about opening up a new credit card that has a sign-up bonus? If you already have a credit card that gives you cash rewards, save them up and use it to pay for your way there.

--

--

Sherry Chapman
Live Your Life On Purpose

Writer, animal lover, traveler, caregiver and seeking the unconventional life in bits and pieces.