I Read 24 Non-Fiction Books in 12 Months, These Are My Top 10

Picking the right book to read has never been easier.

Moreno Zugaro
Live Your Life On Purpose
10 min readJan 30, 2020

--

On February 1st, 2019, I challenged myself to study 24 books within the next 12 months, resulting in two weeks per book on average. Some days ago, I finished the last one. I used to be an avid reader as a kid and early teen, but at some point in my adolescent years, computer games, booze, lifting weights and girls got the better of me. So I decided to kick things up a notch and challenge myself.

First things first, there is a difference between reading a book and studying it.

Reading is, well, reading a book front to back. It might be fun, it might be interesting, or you might skip the last 100 pages because it doesn’t catch you. While you are likely to remember the key facts or main storyline, most of the information usually is lost within a couple of weeks.

Studying a book, however, is different. For me, it involves taking notes, paraphrasing, re-reading and using a lot of highlighters. I don’t want to only read a book but understand it. I want to extract its information, inject it into my brain and apply the knowledge in my daily life.

If you don’t remember the information you read and it doesn’t have an impact on your life, I don’t see the point…

--

--