Photo by Diego PH on Unsplash

If You Want to Get Healthy, You Must Do This First

It’s no different than any other area of your life

Devin Arrigo
Live Your Life On Purpose
3 min readJun 15, 2020

--

Make it a Priority

Widely considered one of the most difficult one-day sporting events in the world, becoming an IRONMAN is something I’ve always dreamt of. After months of thinking about it, I finally signed up for an IRONMAN 70.3 — a long-distance triathlon consisting of a 1.2-mile swim, 56-mile bike, and a 13.1-mile run.

Over the past 5 weeks, I’ve spent countless hours swimming, biking, and running to get my body (and mind) in shape to tackle this race. While training, I got the news that my grandmother is in bad shape and is nearing the end.

As such, I decided to head home to be with my family for a couple of weeks.

While obviously not priority #1, I made sure to limit any significant interruptions in my training. Before I flew home, I made all the necessary arrangements to still be able to swim, bike, and run, as I would have at home.

An Example

While I wouldn’t be able to open-water swim as I’m used to, I talked with friends and family to see what pools were open in the area. Eventually, I was able to lock in availability at my buddies’ country club, which fortunately allows members to bring guests.

--

--

Devin Arrigo
Live Your Life On Purpose

200K+ views 🚀 | Marathon runner | Triathlete | Personal Growth Addict 🧠 | Free mindset + fitness ebook 👉🏻 devinarrigo.com/freeguide