Ignoring DMs? Sometimes it’s not OK

When modern friendship becomes too disposable

Ellie Roost
Live Your Life On Purpose
4 min readFeb 6, 2020

--

My work diary was crammed full of one-on-one appointments today.

We only ever show a version of ourselves in situations like this: a kind of “A-game” persona that gets the job done, and seals the deal. The mask I wear resembles me, but it isn’t me.

By anyone’s definition, I did everything I was meant to in those meetings, and my boss was pleased. Why then did I catch myself crying during my long drive home? Tears welled up and sprang at me like a guerilla. Part of it was exhaustion, sure, and I was definitely “hangry,” but I think a lot of it was the fact that despite speaking to human beings all day, I felt starved of true connection.

Like everyone writing here, I thrive on communication. I often have close to a hundred notifications on WhatsApp, Messenger, and email. Group threads escalate so quickly that it’s tough to respond to all of them. Once I prioritize work messages, I can’t always get to everything else.

Nevertheless, I often DM my friends.

I’ll frequently send little messages to ask “Hey, how are you?” or to invite people somewhere. It’s not remotely problematic if they say no, either.

--

--

Ellie Roost
Live Your Life On Purpose

Passionate sustainability advocate, foodie, lover of ephemera, recovering codependent, meditator, friend. She/her. Reach me at mediumroost@gmail.com