Lesson from Nature- On Ageing

Madhumitha Venkatesh
Live Your Life On Purpose
2 min readNov 5, 2020

--

Photo by Aya Salman on Unsplash

I guess, hitting the 30s mark in one’s life triggers the acknowledgment of ageing and the subsequent contemplation of it.

Recently, I began to question, How do I want to age? What is my purpose going to be when I grow older?. Sometimes when these questions that have no straightforward answer to pop up, I acknowledge it and gently allow it to simmer in my subconscious mind. As I did in this case. The question then continues to build momentum there and the answer bubbles up to my conscious mind when I least expect it.

One day shortly after, I ventured to go on a walk in the beautiful Djurgården with the golden summer sun shining on my face. As I walked into the park, a tall, sturdy, oak tree with a wide trunk and a beautiful hollow down the middle caught my eye. In that moment of awe, the final piece of the jigsaw clicked into place and I had the answer to my question.

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

What starts out as a tiny insignificant seed buried deep into the ground, over time, grows into a tall magnanimous tree with a sturdy core. Growing stronger and increasingly resilient with every season that passes by and every storm survived.

--

--

Madhumitha Venkatesh
Live Your Life On Purpose

Lover of the abstract. Inspired by all things urban, my pieces are meant to spark individual thought and moments of zen.