Life is Like A Pothole in the Road

This is my analogy of comparing life with potholes, both are equally surprising and annoying.

Shamar M
Live Your Life On Purpose

--

Photo by Matt Hoffman on Unsplash

I was driving my car with my little sister to the shop on the weekend to buy sweets. We regularly go to the same shop to buy sweets, there’s only one route as it’s so close to our home.

On the way back, it’s pitch black and it’s raining. The drive is smooth and we are one roundabout away from home and then BANG! I hit a disgusting pothole in the road. I didn’t see it coming at all! It was pitch black and there’s hardly any lighting down the road.

A few hours later, I get back into my car and a light on the dashboard pops up indicating to me that my car tire is now damaged. Please bear in mind I had just spent £120 per tire on a new set so I was particularly pissed off.

I dropped my sister home and went to my local supermarket to get air for the car tires. 10 minutes later my tires were fine, I was on the road again looking out for potholes.

If you’re a driver or have at least been inside the car when a driver hits a pothole, the anger and anxiety the driver immediately develops are insane. The first thing they tend to say is; “Great, well that’s a new tire needed” followed by potentially pulling over and checking the car for…

--

--

Shamar M
Live Your Life On Purpose

27. Based in the UK. PG DIP HR Management. Chief of publication The First Time. Editor in About Me Stories.