Living Life With Abandon

Quit carrying around the heavy stone of worry and lay it on the side of the trail.

Michael Horner
Live Your Life On Purpose

--

Circle Park Trail, Bighorn Mountains

I was running a 50K race and had passed lots of people on a really steep uphill portion of the trail.

I was feeling really good and was focused on getting to what I knew was one of my running nemeses, a highly technical downhill stretch on a single path with lots and lots of turns, leaping over roots and even some boggy areas.

I had practiced this section specifically a couple of times coming into the race knowing that my boat-like feet and quirky ankles really didn’t enjoy this section and whereas physically I knew I was going to be able, mentally I was still struggling quite a bit.

As I got about half a mile down the trail I could hear the runners coming up behind. A number of them were just whooping it up on the hill, as they ran past me when I moved off the trail, they had great big smiles and looked like they couldn’t be happier. One twelve-year-old shouted as he passed me “You’ll never see me again” as he bounced down the hill with nary a care in the world (I didn’t see him until the finish line by the way).

Your Face Shows When You’re Not Living Life with Abandon

--

--

Michael Horner
Live Your Life On Purpose

Full-time business person, ultra-runner, writer, and podcaster. I exist in the world of YOU CAN! https://www.buymeacoffee.com/mikehornern