Look at It in Years, Not Weeks

There’s no hurry

Evans Okoro
Live Your Life On Purpose
2 min readJan 18, 2021

--

I’ve learned to put things in different perspectives when I start to get anxious, especially with my Medium content. Sometimes, I lose morale when I see how slow it’s growing, and then I feel like just quitting it altogether, but the rational part of my brain gets to work.

When I start to look at things in years rather than weeks or months, I start to calm down. Nobody ever got it right in their first year. It was bumpy for everyone, so why do I feel like my case will be different? After I say all of these, I create my content because I don’t see what I’d rather do than to keep creating.

It’s the path I’ve chosen and how I see it is; even if it doesn’t get huge, writing is something I see myself doing till the end.

There’s nothing else I’d rather do than write. So, how I see this is, I’d keep doing this because I’ve understood that every effort I’m making now is compounding. You keep seeing my name on your Medium feed, and it’s registering in your subconscious. This same thing will happen to thousands and, if not millions of people, that’s my way of getting bigger through repeated recognition.

You’ll keep seeing me over and over. Another person will too, and like that, it will spread.

So, really I’m not bothered. You’ll keep reading, and I’ll keep writing :)

That’s the mindset you should have too when you feel like quitting. See it as something you have no other choice but to do.

Join my newsletter

--

--