Micro-Goals are the Key to Success

A little progress is better than no progress.

Arya Bhatt
Live Your Life On Purpose
5 min readMar 24, 2020

--

I’ve always had lofty goals. I dream big and put too many things on my plate. I’m great at to-do lists and not so much at completing them. For a long time, I never finished anything because I was setting myself up for failure.

And I’m not alone. According to a study by the University of Scranton, 92% of people quit their goals. That means only 8% of people are succeeding!

We all have long term goals: buying a home, writing a book, and losing weight. When we break down what it takes to achieve these goals, we get bombarded and overwhelmed.

  • I need 90k for a downpayment
  • I don’t have time to write with a full workday
  • Losing 50 pounds will take months

The sheer weight of our goals drains us.

Motivation always burns bright at the start of our goals. Think New Year’s. We want to change so much. We join the gym, overhaul our diet, and start reading too many books.

And then we quit.

We quit because we’ve taken on too much, and our goals seem unachievable. We tell ourselves we’ll never finish anything, so what’s the point?

--

--

Arya Bhatt
Live Your Life On Purpose

Dreamer, food lover, fitness fanatic and travel aficionado.