Photo by Mimi Thian on Unsplash

Most of Us Don’t Know How To Listen

Dena G. Warfield
Live Your Life On Purpose
8 min readApr 7, 2019

--

“Most people do not listen with the intent to understand; they listen with the intent to reply.” — Steven Covey, The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People

Worst Day Possible

My day was one of the worst I had ever had. It seemed like I was cursed or something. My car was sideswiped on the way to work, nothing major, but it will still need to be repaired.

When I got to work I remembered I was supposed to be there an hour early for a special meeting that I missed. I started working on my new project only to realize that the information I needed to create this new app was given out in the meeting that I missed.

The Poser

I walked up to my boss’s desk and before I said a word he said, “Well, I guess you’ll have to see if someone will give you the information you missed.”

“This is going to be fun,” I said out loud to myself. App creation was a cut-throat business. Nobody was going to be willing to give me the information or at least the correct information. My best friend worked in this department also, maybe she’d help me. I took my laptop to her desk.

“Jenny, would you help me?” I asked. “Please. My car got hit this…

--

--

Dena G. Warfield
Live Your Life On Purpose

Writing about ADHD from a non-ADHD perspective. Using a MA in Human Behavior, Life Coaching and personal experience. Illustrated by fictionalized stories. DenaG