My 20 Years Battle Against Overweight

And the lessons I’ve learned

Tony Kung
Live Your Life On Purpose
7 min readMar 19, 2020

--

Obesity in childhood will last for your lifetime

In my memory, I was always the heaviest boy in my class. I was weighted 65 kg (143 lbs) when I was 12 years old and gained 25 kg (55 lbs) when I turned 15 years old. Three years of an extremely sedentary, sleep-deprived, and highly stressful life due to the academics pressure of getting into the best high school made my weight hit an all-time high.

In my country of residence — Taiwan, all junior high school students have to take a highly competitive senior high school entry exam. The exam only holds once per year, and it will determine where you go to high school. The ranking of the school is very important because it is like a stamp on you and will last for a lifetime.

Also, the better the school, the better your chance to get into college. All the Physical Education classes had been replaced for class subjects such as Math and English that will be tested on the exam. I believe I did not even break a sweat or ramped up my heart rate to 130 bpm even in a month. I was more like a plant can move!

On top of that, unlimited junk food supply also attributed my 25kg gain. I don’t want to blame my family, but fried chicken, burger, pizza, and coke are all…

--

--

Tony Kung
Live Your Life On Purpose

Swimming, cycling, and running shape my body; coding and thinking shape my mind.