Photo by Tim Gouw on Unsplash

Perspectives from 1200 Feet in the Sky

Capturing the memories that matter

Ashley Birchwood
Live Your Life On Purpose
4 min readMay 6, 2020

--

The elevator ride to the top of the CN Tower in Toronto takes about 58 seconds, which is pretty quick given that you are climbing nearly 150 floors. As a native Torontonian, I’ve made several trips up the CN Tower, two of which have been particularly notable.

The Edge Walk

The first was when I did the Edge Walk, which yes, is as terrifying as it sounds. I subjected myself to this experience as a publicity stunt for a modeling competition I had entered. This was meant to be “The World’s Highest Catwalk.” All glammed up and camera-ready, my fellow models and I hopped in the elevator.

Unfortunately for us, you are forbidden from looking glamorous on the Edge Walk.

The 50 bobby pins keeping my hair in place had to be removed (you could impale someone down below with one of those things), the high heels I was wearing had to be replaced with running shoes (those grates are not kind to stilettos), and the haute couture ensemble I had on was promptly replaced with a bright orange jumpsuit and flashy yellow harness the moment I stepped off the elevator.

Regardless of the downgrade to my outfit, I plastered a smile on my face and pretended to be confident. The guide strapped me into my harness and opened the glass doors.

Creating the Experience

I stepped out and felt the cool wind on my face. This wasn’t so bad. It was a clear day and I could see far beyond the city limits. I understood why Drake chose the CN Tower as the photo for his album “Views”.

We were only out there for about 10 minutes. A few photo ops, some leaning over the edge of the platform, and it was over. All the hype and excitement ended by the next day and all I had left of the experience was a photo and a story. It was a worthwhile experience, but it felt manufactured. I was really only there so that the modeling agency could garner some interest in their competition. I was fine with that, but I can’t say that this was a life-changing experience for me.

The Memories that Matter

Some experiences stick in your memory for a long time, while others tend to fade away over the years. The ones that really count, I would like to think, are the ones that stick. Some you cherish, others you wish you could forget, but all have shaped you in one way or another.

We like to pick and choose which memories we share with one another. We post photos from our latest trip or evening out, seeking the approval of our networks that what we are doing is good.

Yet I often wonder how many memories we seek to create for the benefit of the photo op, rather than the impact they can have on ourselves and others.

How many experiences really change you? Does it depend on what you were doing, or perhaps who you were with?

Many of the memories that are of significance to us involve a relationship. You could be in the same place doing the same thing, but have a totally different experience depending on who you are with. Investing in relationships creates many unforgettable moments, the kind that shapes who you are.

The Next Trip to the Top

Eight years later, I found myself taking that same elevator ride to the top, except this time it was life-changing. This time, I felt more beautiful than ever before. I wasn’t up there to impress. I wasn’t nervous either— in fact, I felt more secure than I had ever been.

This time, I took the elevator with my new fiancé, who had proposed to me about 10 minutes before. I was giddy, I was in shock, I was in love. The view of the city was lovely, but I wasn’t so concerned about that. Looking into the smiling eyes of the man I was going to marry, now that was a breathtaking view.

I stepped off that elevator a new woman, an engaged woman. I knew I would never forget that night not because I was at the CN Tower, but because the love of my life told me why he wanted to spend the rest of his life with me.

The CN Tower Edge Walk was a cool experience, and certainly one I will remember, but it didn’t change me. Yet, I took that same elevator ride years later and found myself changed forever. The view from the top was the same, yet the mental pictures I took were completely different.

Think back to your most life-changing memories. Who were you with?

--

--