Plan Time to Waste Time

And get more done

Darryl Brooks
Live Your Life On Purpose
3 min readMay 28, 2020

--

Productivity is all about planning your time so you accomplish more and waste less time. But a lot of what we consider wasted time isn’t really wasted at all. We’re just doing it at the wrong times. Recreation, leisure, entertainment, and just plain idle thought, is not time wasted. We need those in our lives. So instead of fighting them, plan for them.

Social Media

I spend twenty minutes, a few times a day, going through my social media feeds. I’m not wasting time. (Well, yeah, I am a little). I’m marketing, I’m seeking out new and productive followers, I’m researching articles to write and photos to shoot.

Outside of the few seconds I’ll spend watching the latest viral video, this isn’t a waste of time.

So I plan for it. It’s on my to-do list. First thing in the morning, around lunch, late afternoon, and next-to-last thing at night.

This is time scheduled for social media. At any point in the day when I am being ‘productive,’ say, writing this article, I don’t have the temptation to stop and browse my Twitter feed, because I know that time will come soon.

Breaks

You need them. Take them. Plan for them. Don’t wait until you are exhausted and “have to take a break.” That’s like…

--

--

Darryl Brooks
Live Your Life On Purpose

Photographer & Writer-I shoot what I see-I write what I feel. Top writer in Photography, Art, Creativity, Productivity, Self Improvement, Business, Life Lessons