Pride or Regret: How Do Soldiers Actually Feel About Their Medals?

The Highs and Lows of Military Service

Mark J Kingsfield
Live Your Life On Purpose

--

© Crown Media

I remember the first time I saw Captain Wickstead. He was wearing full Service Dress, with his full rack of medals across his chest — a staggering 14 in all.

I was so impressed. I had been in the British Army for less than three months, of course I would be. However, I knew enough to know that this man had some seriously impressive experience. A glance at the ribbons on his chest confirmed he has more than done his bit for Her Majesty.

I summoned the courage to talk to him, and said “Sir, you must be very proud of them”. His response is still as clear in my mind today as it was when he first uttered it 14 years ago:

“What these? You see a row of shiny things, I see years away from my family and they remind me of things I’d rather not think about. Careful what you wish for.”

And then he was gone, swept away in the hustle and bustle of the event we were at.

Years later, I can relate to his surprising response all too well.

Twelve months after that exchange, I had commissioned into the British Army as an Officer…

--

--

Mark J Kingsfield
Live Your Life On Purpose

Be indispensable, in leadership and life | 20+ years of military & business experience | Leader, Exec Coach, Speaker, Learner, Writer, Dad.