Photo by Isaac Smith on Unsplash

Progress Is Not Linear

It really never is and there’s nothing wrong with that

Cristina Rojas
Live Your Life On Purpose
2 min readMay 23, 2020

--

A lot of people, including me, get frustrated about our progress in different aspects of life: mental health, physical practices, and even career progress.

We want to get to where we dream of in a matter of months, if not weeks.

But we forget that progress really is not linear.

This doesn’t mean that you might go back to completely zero, back to the start, it just means progress is kind of like an uphill mountain with some ups and downs on the way.

What’s magic about this progress line, is that slowly, your ‘downs’ are higher than your previous ‘downs’. And that’s where the magic lies.

To show you an example, let me talk about my mental health.

I’ve suffered from just about everything but my biggest problem has always been anxiety, and more specifically, the overthinking aspect of it.

I would analyze everything and my mind, my chatterbox, would never be quiet.

Then, thanks to Cognitive Behavioral Therapy, Yoga, and some self-experiments I have finally managed to overcome it. At least, I don’t think it is stopping me from living the life I want, which it did in the past.

--

--

Cristina Rojas
Live Your Life On Purpose

Certified Yoga Teacher. Talks about: yoga, mental health, business and science. Join my substack: https://mindfulmessbycristinarojas.substack.com/