Refuse To Die.

Caleb Mosby
Live Your Life On Purpose
4 min readJun 26, 2019
Photo by stijnswinnen from Unsplash

I wonder what actions you make when you wake up in the morning, i wonder if you get up to use the restroom immediately then go drink some water, do some meditation or you blindly move your hands around your bed for that precious device that can possibly make or mar your entire day.

Personally, both options work for me, I could wake up, take a pee, go for a run, meditate before picking up my phone or simply just pick the damn phone as soon as I open my eyes halfway from sleep

I don’t feel pressured.. anymore.

I read a great article from Kyle Seagraves “Don’t Check Your Phone The First Thing In The Morning”. He had amazing points that if I had a neck brace placed around my throat, I will still nod in agreement to his direction.

I mean isn’t he right?

‭ “Checking your phone in the morning will immediately limit the rest of the day. It will often make you play the comparison game with the highlights of other people’s lives. Let’s..

..stop right there, Pity Party is Over.

Photo by Adrianna Van Groningen from Unsplash

Checking my phone this morning as soon as I woke up did not limit my day, it kick-started it.

Last night, I imagined how my day will be today, I knew I had not written in a while and hoped to write soon but I didn’t know when, I knew I was going to be at my Tailor’s shop, head to the market for some good window shopping then done! Journey back home to sit on my soft ass bed to focus on my computer.

What I didn’t imagine was attack my phone as soon as my eyes open, return my mom’s text message with a call at 5:51 AM (my dad picked and got pissed, a short story for another time) log on Instagram to scroll and you bet the comparison game hit me.

Is that really a challenging and bad thing?

Yes it’s challenging and No it’s not bad my love. A game is to be won or lost, in a game you are given an equal opportunity to fight back and win, It is your right but I won’t be insensitive, proclaim it is an easy task, ignore the emotional effects of viewing a full IGTv video content shot by my friend Sooflight for Levis then ignore the Why’s.

Why wasn’t I a part of this?

Why didn’t I produce, direct, edit or even model in this absolute magic created by soof?

sad right!

Ladies and Gentlemen, in that train of thought I had entered the Colosseum as a naked gladiator singing the national anthem of defeat. I had blindly positioned my mind for oppression, gotten vulnerable and limited my perception in that moment.

Photo by David Mao from Unsplash

Then it dawned on me that all these thoughts of self blame were executed by me for myself, I shook my head and started clapping and praising soof, Hell I commented on the post and told myself

“I will rather be in the audience cheering at a good fight, taking notes and focusing on battles I can control”

The Take-Away

You can limit your day and lose the comparison on social media if you are trying so hard to fight your current status, judge yourself too quickly then forget your process, your jotted plans, your short and long term goals because you spent 45 minutes of your morning entertaining yourself with your mobile device.

Instead, I encourage every reader to grow within yourself, realize that the biggest comparison game is within, be one with your vulnerabilities and insecurities, understand that you’re limitless then enjoy the process.

Observe the success of other people, be of great cheer, like that picture, save that video, share that post, scroll some more and once again enjoy the process.

Right now I know I have conquered limiting my day and engaging in a comparison game, I can stop writing now, I can move on to meditate then plan my day with my tailor and make my market runs, I might throw in some more agendas cause I am feeling really good, energetic and positive about my life.

I know you are too.

--

--