Illustration of a man singing
Illustration Courtesy of Author

1 Unexpected Thing You Can Do Every Day to Be Happier

Even when you think you suck at it

Alexander Boswell
Live Your Life On Purpose
4 min readJul 22, 2020

--

I was in a crappy mood the other day, nothing was going the way I wanted it to. Work at my day job was tough, and I felt like I had to wring my brain to eke out the words to write an article that evening.

It happens. Sometimes the world just wants to throw you into the trash. However, instead of smashing my nearly seven-year-old Macbook Pro, I picked up my guitar for the first time in a while.

There are a few songs I like to play and sing (even if I’m not the best singer in the world). They aren’t particularly happy songs, but the act of performing them to myself is cathartic.

When I ran out of the songs I knew from heart, I decided to sing along to some music on YouTube for a while.

Afterward, I felt so much better. So I figured it would be interesting to find out if the action of singing makes us feel happier, scientifically. Here’s what I found out.

Singing affects the body like exercise

If you’ve ever been to a concert (especially a metal/rock one), you know how sore you can get from attending and belting your heart out.

--

--

Alexander Boswell
Live Your Life On Purpose

Founder of SaaSOCIATE, a content marketing agency or MarTech, AdTech, and eCommerce SaaS businesses | Business PhD Candidate | He/Him | saasociate.com