Something Weird Happened Today

Evans Okoro
Live Your Life On Purpose
2 min readJan 9, 2021

There’s this Nigerian speaker I found on Youtube some days back, and before then, I didn’t know he existed. But somehow, a video of his appeared on my Youtube feed, and I watched it.

He was spitting facts, and I kept watching his videos. I watched two, then three, then about 2 hours had passed, and then I subscribed and wanted more of his content because I felt like his gems could help me in my journey.

I don’t subscribe easily to people’s channels on Youtube, but somehow, I did.

Then yesterday, I was on Instagram and saw his picture, and this is where the weirdness started. I saw RIP on the caption.

I didn’t want to believe it. So, I checked the comment section and it was the same thing.

How could he be dead? This person whose content I just found some days back. I Googled him and found out that he died on December 26th, 2020. It was surreal.

But his journey had ended just like that.

But I consoled myself with: That’s life.

He might be dead, but there are still pieces of him on the internet. Through his videos and the value he left.

My question to you is, what will you be remembered with?

RIP Ubong King Thompson

--

--